Cheese Dip with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
We all loved this! I added a lot more beer than the recipe calls for (I think it was about a bottle and a half that I used) to get the consistency that I wanted. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I made this for my husband and a few of his friends that came over for a football game. I served it with some soft pretzel bites, bacon wrapped smokies, and a few other finger foods. They loved it! One of the friends had me write down the recipe for him before he left. I personally was not a fan of it, and it did harden, even after adding extra beer. But if the guys liked it, that's all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissys_cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Really good! Very rich and thick. I would suggest leaving it on the stove over very low heat or in a small crock pot. It did seem to thicken all of the sudden. Really good with carrots, and melba toast. Added fresh chopped garlic and left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This recipe was such a hit at our last Husker party that my family insisted on a mass emailing of the recipe. It is that good. It does thicken up but as a previous review stated you can just thin it out with more beer. Hey, this recipe could be adapted with crunchy bacon bits, mushrooms...I even thought about adding walnuts. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very good! I opted to add garlic, rather than garlic salt and carmelized onions to add a bit more flavor. Different beers also change the flavor of the dip as well, if you are looking for ways to amend the recipes for your personal tastes. I did without the pumpernickel and just dumped it in a bowl. I used it for chip dip. It is a bit thick, but you can just add more beer to thin it out to your preference. Good, easy and tasty. Just great football food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbobthered

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Works best if you do not use low fat cream cheese, Mozzeralla cheese and Cheddar cheese because you will get a grainy texture. You need the fats to have a creamy texture. Cooking it at a high temperature and for a long period of time can also add to the poor texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe exact and it has a good flavor but a slightly gritty consistancy. Idk if that happened because I couldn't quite melt the cream cheese completely or because that is just how cheddar cheese melts down. It wasn't so gritty that I couldn't eat it but not as smooth as I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made this dip for soft pretzels and it was very tasty! I used a light beer, and thought the flavor was mild and just right! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
i substituted part of the mozerella with velveeta to make it extra creamy. turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I used garlic powder instead of salt, as the cheese already adds plenty of salt. Very good recipe, but a bit heavy so be sure to have plenty of people and offer a lighter appetizer as well. Thanks for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States