Cheese Dip with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I brought this to a Holiday party, and EVERYONE asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I can't decide if I liked this or not. Both my boyfriend and I were sort of "meh" about it. Was missing something....but I'm not sure what. Just seemed sort of bland. Definitely would use garlic powder next time (as others have suggested) as it was salty enough with all of the cheese. Might try again but play around with seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was really good. I made this for a St. Patrick's Day party and put the dip in a mini crock pot. Did not use the bread bowl and used Guinness for the beer. I really liked dipping with potato chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
i completely butchered this recipe in all honesty, but though perhaps my review would help others in the same boat as me. i chose to use the slow cooker so i wouldn't have to be prepping the dip while people were already at my house. as i was putting everything in the crock pot, i had a sudden panic attack that it wouldn't reach the temperature for the alcohol to cook off, and kids would be eating it....so i chose not to put the beer in. i decided to add a brick of velveeta because after putting in the other cheeses, there wasn't very much in the crock pot. all said and done, it was a good dip. it got hard and difficult to dip very quickly. while i like the bread bowl concept, i think i would have been better keeping it in the crock pot and serving from there so it didn't congeal so quickly. however i appreciate this recipe for being a yummy cheese dip that isn't to spicy for the kids! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The taste was great, although the cheese set up too quickly after taking it out of the sauce pan. I'm not sure that has anything to do with the recipe, though. I might be more of a fan to use this as a fondue dip, where it would stay on the heat constantly. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Great dip - had to heat it thoroughly, and used a whole bottle of beer - it helped keep it from getting hard later on. Added a few things - chopped scallions, used real garlic (grated), and a little spicy mustard. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Excellent dip! Used Mad River Brewing Co. Double IPA and sharp cheddar. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Delicious! I used monterrey jack cheese instead of the mozzarella, and it added a nice kick! Also, the cream stout I used added some acidity. Great with soft pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINNECIDENCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was fantastic. I used Bell's Amber Ale; it gave a mild beer flavor which worked for the guests who weren't into beer. I also served in a crock-pot so ended up using a full bottle instead of the cup so it wouldn't get too thick. Substituted garlic salt for 4 cloves of roasted garlic. Served with pumpernickel points, garlic bagel chips, and french bread crostini. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martyrthisthat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
We all loved this! I added a lot more beer than the recipe calls for (I think it was about a bottle and a half that I used) to get the consistency that I wanted. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States