Cheese Corn Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I think other reviewers probably eat too much sugar. This recipe is fine as is -- with one exception. I use colby jack or some other kind of cheese. Mix some into the mix and put some on top during the last few minutes. As someone who lives in a higher altitude you need to check the doneness. It's not consistant in these mountains :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Awesome, extremely quick recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Super Great. I used sweet creamed corn and it still was not sweet enough. Will make again but include sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
What a yummy discovery. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds. I leave out the whole can of corn and cheese. I used 1 1/2 boxes of the jiffy corn muffin mix to equal 12oz. of corn bread mix. Added a 1/3 cup of sugar. It's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was WONDERFULLLLLLLLL ... only I didn't add the cheese. Not that I don't absolutely LOVE cheese but I figured I didn't need the extra calories and it was delicious even without it !!! Thanks for another wonderful recipe on this wonderful site !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Been making this stuff for years and it's always delicious. I prefer to skip the cheese and cut the butter in half, then bake for only 40 minutes. Comes out very moist, just the way we like it. Also use no - salt corn and butter, and low fat sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
loved this! i've been looking for something that tastes like the little dab of corn that Chevy's restaurant serves and this is really close. i used pepper jack and mixed it right into the batter before I baked it. took about 48 minutes to set to the consistency i wanted. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
this was absolutely wonderful. like a few others, i had put the cheese in the batter and added abt 1/4c sugar and baked for 45 min and it came out perfect. thanks for the post :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
excellent!! I too put the cheese in the batter and I also used a sweet corn bread mix. Loved it, Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Like others, I ommited the whole kernel corn and mixed the cheese into the batter, then topped with additional cheese. Very good -- husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States