Cheese Corn Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I think other reviewers probably eat too much sugar. This recipe is fine as is -- with one exception. I use colby jack or some other kind of cheese. Mix some into the mix and put some on top during the last few minutes. As someone who lives in a higher altitude you need to check the doneness. It's not consistant in these mountains :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Awesome, extremely quick recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Super Great. I used sweet creamed corn and it still was not sweet enough. Will make again but include sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
What a yummy discovery. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds. I leave out the whole can of corn and cheese. I used 1 1/2 boxes of the jiffy corn muffin mix to equal 12oz. of corn bread mix. Added a 1/3 cup of sugar. It's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was WONDERFULLLLLLLLL ... only I didn't add the cheese. Not that I don't absolutely LOVE cheese but I figured I didn't need the extra calories and it was delicious even without it !!! Thanks for another wonderful recipe on this wonderful site !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Been making this stuff for years and it's always delicious. I prefer to skip the cheese and cut the butter in half, then bake for only 40 minutes. Comes out very moist, just the way we like it. Also use no - salt corn and butter, and low fat sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
loved this! i've been looking for something that tastes like the little dab of corn that Chevy's restaurant serves and this is really close. i used pepper jack and mixed it right into the batter before I baked it. took about 48 minutes to set to the consistency i wanted. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
this was absolutely wonderful. like a few others, i had put the cheese in the batter and added abt 1/4c sugar and baked for 45 min and it came out perfect. thanks for the post :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
excellent!! I too put the cheese in the batter and I also used a sweet corn bread mix. Loved it, Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Like others, I ommited the whole kernel corn and mixed the cheese into the batter, then topped with additional cheese. Very good -- husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States