Cheese Corn Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This ended up being a soft set consistency (which is perfect spoon bread) and was good but needs tweaking as it was a bit bland. Next time I will add a more strongly flavored cheese (pepper jack) and a can of green chiles for some extra spice. The texture and the flavor was PERFECT (be sure not to overbake this). If you use the Jiffy corn bread mix which already had sugar in it, don't add more sugar! The creamed corn will add additional sweetness and if you add more sugar it will taste like a dessert bread instead of a savory one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was really good but I did make a few changes. I added 1/4 cup sugar and mixed the cheese in the batter instead of on top for last 10-15 mins. I also used a casserole blend cheese rather than swiss. I was very pleased with the results. This recipe is definitely a keeper for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYLANSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made this for my company potluck and it was a huge hit. I'm not a huge fan of Swiss Cheese with cornbread, so I used a mild cheddar, and I baked it into the bread instead of topping it. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This is a fun recipe but it needs two modifications. First, don't add the cheese until after the whole thing is done. If you bake it for ten minutes with the cheese on top, it turns into a nasty hard cheese crust. Second, add some sugar. It needs a little bit of sweetness. I don't know how much, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Super yummy, just a quick note, one time when I went to make this I was out of sour cream (DREAD!!!) but substitued with cottage cheese and it still turned out fabulous! Goes well with enchiladas, chili, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I doubled the recipe and added a package of taco seasoning and small can of sliced black olives to give it a mexican zing. It was very good! Made it tonight with my baked seasoned pork steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee352008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I usually do not top this with cheese and it is still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Easy recipe. Definately needs sugar and I'm not so crazy about the whole kernel corn. Okay recipe but I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
excellent!! I too put the cheese in the batter and I also used a sweet corn bread mix. Loved it, Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made a custom version of this recipe. I halfed the recipe because I am single and eat alone. I added chopped green chilies and some browned ground meat to the batter; added the cheese to batter and put cheese on top after it was done. Great meal which only needed a green salad to complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States