Cheese Corn Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Super yummy, just a quick note, one time when I went to make this I was out of sour cream (DREAD!!!) but substitued with cottage cheese and it still turned out fabulous! Goes well with enchiladas, chili, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Made this for two different holiday dinners with great results both times. Was also good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENSOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This ended up being a soft set consistency (which is perfect spoon bread) and was good but needs tweaking as it was a bit bland. Next time I will add a more strongly flavored cheese (pepper jack) and a can of green chiles for some extra spice. The texture and the flavor was PERFECT (be sure not to overbake this). If you use the Jiffy corn bread mix which already had sugar in it, don't add more sugar! The creamed corn will add additional sweetness and if you add more sugar it will taste like a dessert bread instead of a savory one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I've never tried the cheese on this recipe because we like it without. My son didn't like the texture, so the last time I made this I halved the amount of butter and sour cream and added a tablespoon of sugar. Poured the batter into muffin tins and baked them until good and set, then I browned them under the broiler. Served them up with chili and there were no complaints. I like this recipe because it's a good base for either sweet or savory corn bread and it can be easily modified to taste. Great submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Good, wasn't like the traditional spoon bread I was looking for. More like a corn casserole with swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
My sister made this recipe for our Thanksgiving dinner - it was GREAT!!! Loved by all and is a definite add to our traditional dishes! She used a chesse blend as well and mixed it into the batter instead of putting it on top and also used a sweet cornbread mix! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I was looking for a spoon bread recipe after I tried some at a local Mexican restaurant, which was a sweeter kind than this one. I only sprinkled a little bit of cheese on top, about 2 minutes before the bread was done and it melted perfectly. I'll definitely make this again, but I'll add more Splenda next time. My boyfriend absolutely loved it and said he'd eat the bread by itself for dinner. Somehow though the bread was even better the next day and I didn't even warm it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I loved this dish. My boyfriend ate the entire pan in a day. I took out the swiss cheese and added 1/3 cup of white sugar for a sweeter taste and it was amazing. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Hey, this was delicious, thanks! Even with the rough start (as I was preparing I found out I had too much creamed corn and not enough cornbread) this turned out great. I don't know why people want more sugar in this, it was perfect. I did use cheddar instead of swiss though as I dislike the bitterness of Swiss cheese, so maybe that's what others problem was. I thought it was great. A new comfort food -- just what I needed last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanapeace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baker, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I love this - with or without the cheese! Depends on the day & if I am on a diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States