Cheese Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I was surprised at the taste of this dish. Sweet and savory. I would probably go lighter on the sour cream or leave it out all together next time. I couldn't decide wether or not i liked it, but my husband seemed to enjoy it. It was easy to make... i think i might give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I've made this recipe many times, and everyone loves it! It's SO quick and easy to make. I've used fat free sour cream and cheese and it's turned out fine, but the regular products add more flavor. I have omitted the onions though...for me, thats takes up too much time. I always get compliments on this dish...and it's GREAT reheated in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Excellente recipe! Everybody was coming back for more. I prepared a variation changing the cheddar for swiss cheess, and found the result yummier and with a nicer presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was alright but I wasn’t thrilled. I was first dismayed while making this that it called for only 1 cup of creamed corn. Pleeeease….what use would I have for less than half a can of leftover creamed corn? I love recipes that utilize already prepared canned goods. Can you imagine if you had to cream your own corn before making a simple side dish casserole? But since I do value the canned goods in a recipe I also deduct from the worthiness of any recipe that doesn’t utilize a whole standard can size worth of the ingredients. Use the leftovers in another recipe? Maybe but I have to make an effort to find and cook a recipe that uses another half a can of that ingredient! Most times a leftover like that ends up money in the garbage after it turns green in the refrigerator. I don’t like that! I used only about a Tablespoon of milk to make up for the additional liquid of the entire can of creamed corn (since I did use it anyway). Mind you maybe this wasn’t the way to go because the cornbread base seemed kind of dense and took about 50 minutes to cook. It was nice and moist though . Don’t let the hot sauce fool you I couldn’t even detect it in the recipe when it was finished. Use a lot more if you want it to taste a little spicy. The sautéed onions were delicious but I think I’ll stick to them on my hamburgs and hot dogs, not in a casserole. The sour cream and cheese was the best part. This really didn’t seem like a casserole but more like a stiff cornbread pudding. I’ve made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I'm sorry, but I didn't like this at all -- neither did my family. It had a sweet flavor even with the sour cream and cheese. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I like this, as well did my family. However, I did use a whole can of creamed corn. It is a little rich, but was good and went well with the rest of the meal. Loved the onions....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Good -- though we used too much sour cream in ours. Next time I will try less layering; we like a more uniform casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I love this recipe! I made it about three years ago for a Thanksgiving side dish, and now the entire family requests that I make every year for both Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Was a hit at the potluck. If you double the recipe, make sure you allow extra baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I see a hundred recipes for this, but this is the best version - although I use a whole can of cream corn (or more) whenever I make it. The layering brings out the flavors better, and making it without the whole corn kernels makes it much creamier and a little sweeter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maralin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States