Cheese Cake Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I'm only giving four stars to this recipe because I had to alter it as suggested by other reviewers to get the perfect cupcakes. I added a cup of sour cream, increased the sugar by 1/4 cup, and for the crust used two and a half cups of crushed wafers with 1/4 cup butter pressed to the bottom of the cupcake liners. They turn out great after these changes -- people keep asking for the recipe! I also made them using the plain wafer cookies for the crust as described in the recipe and they just turned slightly chewy ... it kinda felt weird having to chew the crust when the cheesecake itself just melts in your mouth. So if you have time, do the extra work and crush your cookies - it's worth the trouble :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
A+ Recipe!! Made this early yesterday morning for a winter sports banquet last night. Vanilla Wafers have shunk over the years, so I crushed 2-1/2 cups, added 1/4 cup melted margarine and pressed 1 T into each paper liner. Also as per previous reviewer, I added 1 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup more sugar to the cream cheese mix and got 20 wonderful cups. Topped 1/2 with 1 T blueberry pie filling and the other 1/2 with 1 T cherry pie filling....blue and red, my kids HS school colors. First dessert to disappear!! Thanks for sharing this one Diana. It's been printed and filed for lots of future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
These were easy, fast, and tasted pretty good. After reading some of the reviews, I changed up some things. Also, I only had one pkg of cream cheese so I had to adjust the ingredients accordingly. For the Crust: The wafer cookies were too small for regular muffin size and too big for mini-muffin size. So, I crushed 20 wafer cookies and mixed it with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. After lining the muffin pans with cupcake papers, I put tablespoon full of crushed cookies to each muffin pan. I had exact amount of crushed cookies for 12 cupcakes. I used a measuring cup which fit nicely in the muffin pan to press the crushed cookies to the bottom. Very easy! For the Filling: I used one pkg of cream cheese, added 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1/2 cup of white sugar, 1 egg and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Filled each cup evenly and baked it for 20 mins. After it cooled a bit, I put it in the refrigerator to chill. I read in other reviews that cheese cake cups sink afterwards. Well, it sinks quite a bit - about 1/2 inch deep, which provides you more than enough room for your favorite filling. My choice of filling is strawberry (fresh, frozen, or pie filling). With filling and all, I thought it was little too sweet for my taste. Next time, I think I will use a little less than 1/2 cup of sugar. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This one was really worth it! Very easy and VERY tasty! I used butter cookies instead of vanilla wafers - you MUST try this because I believe the butter cookies (store-bought in the tin) made them even more delicious! I brought them to a pot luck and they were a big hit. Thankfully I made more than enough and had a (very) few left to take home - yum! BTW, I used half a strawberry to top each one, slicing each strawberry in half, then slicing each half to make three thin slices, and fanning those for an elegant topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Make sure you don't overfill the paper baking cups. If you do, increase your baking time. I filled mine about 3/4 full and had to bake them about 30 to 45 minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Awesome! A party smash hit. I made as is, but followed the other's advice by mixing 2 1/2 cups wafer to 1/4 cup butter in the food processor and then scooping 1 tablespoon of the mixture into each cup and pressing down to make the crusts. I also topped with cherry pie filling. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Easy and tasty! Crushed the wafers in the food processor and added melted butter and put 1 tbs. in each paper and pressed down for crusts. Everyone here loved them -- even picky son who never tries anything new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
These are VERY good, and VERY easy!! They went so quick at my gathering, I almost didn't get to try one! I used strawberry flavored cream cheese (Philly) and topped them off with Betty Crocker chocolate desert decorations (found by the icing in the baking isle). They turned out BEAUTIFUL! I baked them for 25 minutes, but I think that it was a bit too long. Thanks Diana, for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
These were great.I made these for a baby shower and they were the first thing eaten.I wanted 24 instead of 16 so I added 1 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup extra sugar.I also added raspberries on the top with chocolate leaves.A must try..simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
These were so good and SO easy. I baked for 20 min. and topped them with a variety of jams and crushed nuts after baking. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States