Cheese Borek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
not a fan of the variation, call me a purist but it's better with feta. Also, way too much parsley. The version in the picture is like the caserole version, layered like a lasagna, two sheets filo, brush with butter, and it makes the layers a bit better if you put the melted butter and also a bit of egg beaten with milk. there are many ways to do borek such as triangles, layered, rolled up into a spiral like a cinamon roll almost, rolled like cigar (sigara borek). etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Hi, I haven't tried this recipe but when I make borek I use yufka sheets (Turkish) instead of phyllo dough. Layer them in a large baking pan, each layer getting its own coating of the butter, and after layering about half the dough I put the cheese on it and keep layering it till all the dough is used. I bake the borek in the pan and cut before serving. It isn't time consuming to prepare this way. In fact, it becomes one of those dishes you can prepare quickly if need be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GHung
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
After visiting the ancient city of Constantinople, known today as Istanbul, Turkey, I learned to make the original Feta Cheese Borek in a pan from my Turkish-American husband. I used fresh Feta Cheese, instead of the ones in this recipe for the authentic flavor of the Cheese Borek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHung

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
my brother-in-law is macadonian and where he is from it is called burek. we call it yugoslavian pizza!! It is delious with meat. we bake it in a round pan and it serves about 6-8 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy
Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Where I live (Slovenia, and all over in the Balkans) this is called burek. It's usually rolled or can be baked in a round pan like a pie. This recipe is a different take on the burek I know (which can be with cheese, meat, potato, spinach). This is a great meal, especially if you have plain drinking yogurt with it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Amazing, although I'd prefer it with the Feta/Spinach blend. Many Armenians also eat it with plain Spinach, Ground Beef, and in my family:Cream Cheese. It's excellent, although when using the Cream Cheese, you have to add some flour to it to make it more firm, or else the cream cheese becomes too liquidy while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I found these to be an excellent blend of cheeses, and the timings were spot on. I used them as appetisers with a variety of dips, although I can imagine it would be great as part of a light lunch as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
We tried this recipe for a Christmas Eve gathering. It was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. They are a bit of work and it takes practice to get the shape right, but it is worth it. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
I thought this recipe was great! I took it to my father's 60th birthday celebration and it was gone in no time. Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
good for quick easy snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States