Cheese Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2000
These biscuits are not only simple, but are light and not too dry...exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
Great for brunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
These were WONDERFUL and so easy to make. I did not add the salt because there is plenty in the Cheddar cheese. I rolled them out to about 1/2" and used a biscuit cutter and was able to get 9 biscuits. For a change of pace, I will substitute the green bell pepper with a can of chopped green chilies, just for a spicier biscuit, but they are perfect the way they are! Thanks for agreat recipe, Nell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Good standard cheese biscuits. Fast and yeast free. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These biscuits have a really light airy texture. They were pretty good, but I didn't like the pepper flavor. Neither did my son, so if you don't care much for the pimento and pepper flavor leave them out as I will next time. These were simple to make and very quick too. If you are expecting these to be like the cheddar bay biscuits, they aren't. They are really good though, and I loved the lightness. These were a great side with a bowl of soup. Thank you Nell for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I've made this recipe about 3 times in the past month, and it's great! Goes wonderfully with stews and soups. And they are great leftover with raspberry jam! The changes I made were to leave out the peppers and pimento, and I increased the cheddar a little. Other then that, left everything the same. Thanks for this great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Of course I had to leave out the green peppers and pimentos,kids won't eat the biscuits with that in there.I added extra cheese and I think crumbled bacon would be tasty in there.We made the potatoe soup V with the biscuits and everything was delicious.I give these biscuits a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made these with my 3 year old son tonight to go with a beef stew. They turned out great, even with the uneven thickness we got when he rolled out his own batch. We omitted the green pepper and pimento because we didn't have any, and not quite sure how much cheese ended up in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I really loved this recipe. I added 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, 1 tsp each of basil & parsley. I would cut back on the flour tho'. 1-3/4 cups would be plenty. I also sautéed 1 small onion and 3 cloves of garlic and added that in as the last ingredient. It rolled well and 10 minutes was plenty for baking! I didn't add pimento or pepper because I didn't have them on hand. These are genuine homemade biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Really good! 10 stars because they don't use Bisquik which I never have and is always called for in biscuit recipes. Would actually give them 4.5 . . . I didn't add the peppers because of the kids but I think they would add a lot of flavor as they are a tad bland without. That's ok though, they were meant as an accompaniment and were perfect for that. I used butter instead of shortening (personal preference). They were fast, tasty, easy and very much enjoyed! I will definitely keep this recipe-it's a great recipe as is, but I can imagine adding herbs or different cheeses, etc. Thanks so much! I've been looking for a quick savory bread recipe for ages and this was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States