Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made and served at my sister's wedding reception. It was an appetizer reception I catered. I doubled the recipe and made two large cheese balls the pecans and two large cheese logs I rolled in pecans. I toasted the pecans which gave them an added sweetness and crunch. I also only used about 1/2 - 3/4 oz Ranch dressing mix and this was plenty, any more and it would be too salty and over-power the other flavors. I, too, only added 2 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese. More and the cheddar would have over-powered the other flavors, probably because I did use sharp cheddar. Both the plain and the pecan were equally enjoyed by the wedding guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have been making this recipe for year and years now. Everyone raves about it and asks for the recipe. For easier blending, using a stand up mixer with the flat blade, or use food handling gloves for hand mixing. If using packaged cheese I use Kraft's Meixican blend, if using freshly shredded cheese, I use co-jack. To roll in the pecans easily, I spread the chooped pecans on a sheet of saran wrap. Then simply roll the log (or ball) onto the pecans, wrap up in the saran wrap and pop into the fridge! This is best with Ritz crackers or those little chicken biscuit crackers by Nabisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akakizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this, minus the pecans, for my friend's bonfire(more like a fire-pit) party, basically a group of high school seniors, anyway, everyone loved it! It was really easy to make, and it tastes great on everything...I put the leftovers on my bagel this morning...I'm definitely going to make it for the next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
to MrsHavens1984....sorry i didn't see your dissapointment of this cheesse ball sooner but try my version & you'll be happy...think the original HV ranch is to salty so I stick with the buttermilk blend..our Giant Eagle doesn't carry it so I stock up when I go to Drug Mart....don't need to add anything but all 3 ingred......I've been making it for several people & end up freezing some for emergency situations....in fact I've done some for dips by adding some beer to it so you can make it into a dip..WoW!..naturally you can always add exra stuff (like bacon,etc, but no need when 3 simple ingred work....go with the flo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We make a cheeseball that is very similar to this one. Difference is - less cheddar and instead of rolling it in pecans we roll it in "Jane's Krazy Mixed-Up Pepper". May sound strange but trust me...it's good and sure to get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is an excellant cheese ball. I made it into two as one was too large. I made the recipe as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I've been making this for years and it is always a hit. I add a little paparika and garlic powder to the mixture. Sometimes I add a little cajun seasoning to give it a kick. I usually make it into a cheese log so it fits easily on a cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Very good and very easy to make! I did it for thansgiving and got lots of compliments on how good they were. I didnt mix in the nuts, but did put a pecan half on the back like turkey feathers, and a small little piece of a nut on the front to make a beak. super cute and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I find that this is way too much Cheddar cheese, and I often omit the pecans. But I just adore this cheese ball! It is always a hit at parties, and there's usually leftovers that are a great snack later on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Just made this for a bridal shower for a friend. Everyone loved them. Made "individual" balls instead of one large ball. Rave reviews! Be sure to finely grind the pecans to get the best coating. If making "individual" balls, it's best to roll the balls in your hand with the pecans. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States