Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
As written is very good, but I cheated & did as a few others have done & I added 1 pkg Carl Buddig Beef, scallions, & a "dab" of Worcestershire sauce. It gets RAVE reviews every time I make it. Never fails someone is asking me for the recipe. Thanks Ellen for a great base recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer St John Seymour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made this numerous years and it is great. Lots of compliments and very easy. This year, I wanted to get rid of the MSG that is in the dressing mix, so I substituted Pampered Chef's Garlic Garlic seasoning (which is basically just minced garlic, minced onion, etc.) and a couple of tablespoonfuls of buttermilk. Came out great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This would probably be okay, but the Hidden Valley ranch dressing mix I bought (and I DID make sure it said dressing and not dip!) was in a new looking packet...I think they have now upped the salt in this. The packet I bought weighed only .4 oz, but that was the only one I saw that said dressing mix. I love salt, but this is so salty...I am so disappointed. I added extra cream cheese in hopes it would take away some of the saltiness, but it didn't. I made these for Christmas gifts, but now I have to throw them out...big waste of money and time for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Fantastic! Everyone at my cookie party thought it was the best they had ever had! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanette00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good! i Got raves about it at thanksgiving! I only used 1 1/2 cups mild chedder cheese and 1/2 cup of very finely chopped ham. i forgot to add green onions like someone suggested but i can't see why it's really needed once you add the ranch. i did use almost all the ranch i left out about a table spoon because as i poured it in it seemed like more than enough. Covered it in choppped peacans (which i hate) for decorative purpose. but you couldn't even taste the peacans at all! To me it just added a little texture and very pretty coating. I will make this at every party! and even for a midnight snack sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I couldn't wait to put this out. I made it the day before, so by the time I served it the flavors were nice and mixed. Very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k9sarchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This came out fantastic. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added worchesire sauce, and crumbled bacon. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
not my favorite cheese ball but very simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I only added about half the ranch dressing packet, but added 1TB of worcestershire sauce. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Definitely a very simple way to make a good tasting cheese ball. Nothing to brag about to the world, but comes in handy if you need something simple to take to parties. The pecans give it that "classic" look and crunch and the 2 simple cheeses are better together than expected. I will say the quantities for this are huge. I realize the quantities are easy to measure, but you will make multiple cheese balls out of these quantities. So be prepared before you make it - you'll either need to be at a huge party, or be desiring to keep some at home for a few weeks. Go from about 1/3 of the recipe if you want just a normal size cheese ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States