Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was my first cheese ball and I looked like a pro! I listened to other reviews and added minced garlic, parsley and some worchester. A few recommendations... it mixes best if you use your hands! Don't be afraid to get messy- it washes off! Also, if you plan to serve it with crackers, take it out of the fridge AT LEAST 2-3 hours before serving to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Wonderful addition to any appetizer buffet. Much tastier than store bought cheeseballs and less expensive too! I made the recipe as is w/ one addition. I mixed in about a 1/3 cup of bacon bits for that extra something. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I like the taste. I used monteray jack mixed with mild cheddar. I loved the snow man idea and I used dried cranberries for the eyes and mouth to make a more "chrismasy" appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I made this cheese ball for a Christmas party at my office. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I used sliced almonds in place of chopped pecans. Definitely will make this again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I accidentally bought a package of ranch dip instead of ranch dressing. I don't know if this made a difference, but my cheese ball was extremely salty. I tried adding another 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese to cut some of the salt taste, but that didn't work. I just couldn't serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Outstanding! Very easy and delicious. It went over big at my office Christmas party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I have made this several times. I half the recipe, as the full recipe makes quite a lot. I roll it into a log, instead of a ball and then roll in chopped walnuts. Yum! Yum! Have had many compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is good as it is and great as a base. I made two of them... one w/ranch dressing package and one w/italian. If you really want to "get this ball rolling", try adding veggies, like finely chopped garlic & onion, bell peppers (green & red for Christmas)and try out a variety of shredded cheeses & meats. Also, I had/used mixed nuts, originally, and they worked fine. I gave this recipe a 4 instead of 5 stars for lack of creativity alone :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Excellent! I added 1T Worchestershire and 1T Tabasco. I received lots of compliments. It is a keeper! Note: I have made this twice. Once using Hidden Valley DIPS mix and once using Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix. There is a huge difference. Use the Salad Dressing mix and NOT the dips. The dips mix is very, very salty. (Edited 5/22/2010)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
So easy! I made this for our midday snacking on Thanksgiving day and everyone loved it! I added monterey jack cheese, too, and as other's suggested, I made sure to finely shred the cheeses. I used medium cheddar instead of sharp and just rolled it in simple nut topping. Very quick and easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States