Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Best and easiest appetizer ever, and it's always a hit! With absolutely no tweaking! People can't get enough of it. I've never tried to make it into an actual ball -- I just serve it in a pretty dish on a platter of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I didn't love this recipe and probably won't make it again. It had a nice herb flavor but nothing interesting or memorable. My husband and I thought it was a little boring :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
After my neighbor brought us a cheese ball for Thanksgiving that was AMAZING, I have not been able to find a recipe that even came close; until now. LOVED THIS!! Can't wait to make it over and over and over. Definitely worth having to put on my running shoes after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Looking for an easy cheese ball recipe as part of my New Year's Day appetizer spread, a quick read of the ingredients told me I'd need to alter this recipe to suit our family's tastes. Here are the liberties I took with my first ever homemade cheese ball: added 1/2 tsp garlic powder plus an entire tsp of minced garlic, onion powder, black pepper, and parsley flakes to taste (didn't have chives, so I subbed a little basil instead), 1 tsp worchestershire, a couple splashes of red wine, and 3/4 c of a parmesan blend cheese. Lined a small bowl with plastic wrap and chilled for a couple hours. Rolled ball into some crushed candied walnuts from Trader Joe's, which was a pleasant contrast to the tangyness of the cheese. Awesome and addicting! Will definitely use this recipe as my base again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Loved this recipe - very flavorful. My husband hit it every day until all leftovers were gone. :) I added shredded cheddar/jack, since I had it on hand. I also used more than 1/2 c of Parmesan, but it was hard to estimate how much, because I was grating by hand. I substituted green onions, as I didn't have chives on hand. Will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was tasty :) I added extra minced garlic and oregano, rolled it in cheddar cheese. When I rolled it into a ball, I used plastic wrap so it wasn't messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a quick and excellent recipe for a cheese spread. At first when I tasted it I thought it tasted a little like ranch spice in cream cheese, even though it is not in there. However, after I tasted some on a wheat cracker it was very good. It almost reminded me of a cream cheese version of Boursin cheese. I also liked that I normally have all of the ingredients in the house but the cream cheese. I even used lite cream cheese and mayo and it didn't seem to be a problem. I made a 1/2 recipe to put on a tray, like the picture suggest, which I might decorate with a jack-o-lantern face for a party tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I can't believe that people actually like this recipe. I usually make mine with just the cream cheese, onion, worsh. sauce and some chopped dried beef, but I thought I'd try something different. The addition of herbs sounded good, but it's not enough. I used fresh chives from my garden, about 1/8 cup, but it didn't give it much flavor so I added a slice of diced onion to it too. 1/2 tsp worsh. sauce? I put in a full tsp and still added more after that. I took it that way and got complaints from the family asking why I didn't put any beef in it. This is a very bland cheese ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very easy and very tasty! We used it for crackers and veggie dip. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This cheeseball is super easy to make and is always requested by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States