Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was the first cheese ball I've made and I used this recipe for the cheese ball in a cheese ball igloo. I added a bit of mozz. and cheddar for a bit more diversity in taste. It just didn't have any kick. There was most of the cheese ball left at the end of the party. Maybe I'll try salmon or something else to give it a better taste and keep people coming for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayflour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was GREAT! I used chopped green onions instead of the chives just to use what I had on hand. Loved it... and no nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very good! I got lots of compliments. I will definitely make this again, even though I really hated the part when I had to "touch" the sticky cheese mixture to make it a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BBWEBSTAR
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was well received. It was the 1st time I made a cheese ball, easy! I added dill and did not have dried chives. I also switched a monterrey jack cheese blend for the parmisian cheese. I rolled it in chopped pecans. It was great and I would make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this cheese ball exactly, and it just tasted too much like cream cheese and garlic powder. I doubled all spices, except for the garlic powder. It tasted a little better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Very good. I doubled the spices and rolled in chopped, toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My family RAVED about this cheese ball recipe. I made it with one regular cream cheese and one light cream cheese (just to cut back on a few calories and make it a bit more spreadable). In addition, I used Light Hellmanns' mayo instead of full fat. The texture and taste were not compromised one bit. I also doubled the dried chives and added a bit more garlic powder. Otherwise, I followed recipe. I spooned it into a large piece of tin foil and semi-shaped it into a ball before I wrapped it up. I unwrapped it the next day and rolled it in a combo of crushed sliced almonds and dried parsley. Everyone loved it! One ball was the perfect amount for a 4-pack box of Ritz crackers. I will most certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Love this cheese ball! Everyone else did too! You can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
So easy and so good! I added some white cheddar and onion powder as others suggested and added double the dried chives and garlic powder. I also used reduced fat cream cheese and replaced the mayo with nonfat plain yogurt to try cut calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I always get compliments when I make this cheese ball, and it's so simple. I follow the suggestions of others and add season salt and cheddar cheese for extra flavor. I use fresh oregano and chives when I have them, and after allowing it to setup in the fridge for awhile I cover it with nuts (almonds so far, but I think pecans would taste good too). This recipe makes a lot, but can be easily halved. It has become a mainstay quick recipe to make when guests come over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States