Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
We really enjoy this recipe. I have made this cheese ball twice. Once I rolled it in pecans and once in almonds. Both were nice. Be warned this makes a big cheese ball. So if making for a family, you might consider cutting the recipe in half. One other tip, let the cheese ball sit in the refrigerator overnight before serving. It lets all the flavors come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Easy to make, got great reviews at an office party. I did not have chives on hand, so instead of 1/2 tsp. oregano and 1/2 tsp chives I went with 1 tsp. italian seasoning. (It likely would have been better with chives, but not worth worring about it). Also, I rolled mine in choppd pecans. Set up well and looked lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Devine, devine, devine! Made this as is - only change was substituting fresh herbs for dried ones. It was polished off so fast and everyone wanted to know what was in it! This will be a new party staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I loved this cheese ball (as did my guests!). It was light and fluffy and had wonderful flavor. It reminded me a bit of the Boursin spread that I love - but I didn't have the Boursin next to me to really do a taste test - but I don't think it's a copycat recipe or anything. Just good flavor. I made sure the beat the cream cheese in my stand mixer until it was creamy and lump free, and then I added the mayo and beat it until it was fluffy. It made it super easy to spread. Great appetizer! I'm going to try to find a way to make it low fat so we can have it more than once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great cheese ball recipe- it was a huge hit with my family. The only things that I did different was to replace the parmesan with monterey jack cheese (dad hates the stinky cheese) and add some minced red peppers for color and some added crunch. I also added some more of the spices until I was happy with the flavor and let it all sit in the fridge overnight, which I think made it all the better. Can't wait until Christmas to serve it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
We made this for a Thanksgiving appetizer and it was fantastic! It was super quick and easy and everyone absolutely loved it! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was delicious and easy to make! After I finished the recipe, I grated some cheddar cheese and rolled the cheese ball in it to add more to the look. I made it for a get together and I received a lot of compliments! Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This has become a tradition in my family for Christmas Eve. I do it a touch differently, though... I purchase a superior quality artisan sourdough loaf and I cut a hole out in the middle, which I fill with the cheese mixture. I rip up the large piece of bread that I removed and serve it around the round, along with variations of crackers, veggies, and ciabatta crips. I also add a bit more Worcestershire to the recipe, but that's mostly because I am addicted to Worcestershire! All in all, without this recipe, I would have no tradition! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I didn't care for the taste but it was a big hit at the buffet. Maybe just me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this for my mother's 80th birthday party last month and it was a HUGE hit. The only thing I added was 3 drops of Tabasco and rolled it in crushed pecans. Everyone wanted the recipe and there was very little left for me to eat afterwards. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States