Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Best and easiest appetizer ever, and it's always a hit! With absolutely no tweaking! People can't get enough of it. I've never tried to make it into an actual ball -- I just serve it in a pretty dish on a platter of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I didn't love this recipe and probably won't make it again. It had a nice herb flavor but nothing interesting or memorable. My husband and I thought it was a little boring :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
After my neighbor brought us a cheese ball for Thanksgiving that was AMAZING, I have not been able to find a recipe that even came close; until now. LOVED THIS!! Can't wait to make it over and over and over. Definitely worth having to put on my running shoes after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Looking for an easy cheese ball recipe as part of my New Year's Day appetizer spread, a quick read of the ingredients told me I'd need to alter this recipe to suit our family's tastes. Here are the liberties I took with my first ever homemade cheese ball: added 1/2 tsp garlic powder plus an entire tsp of minced garlic, onion powder, black pepper, and parsley flakes to taste (didn't have chives, so I subbed a little basil instead), 1 tsp worchestershire, a couple splashes of red wine, and 3/4 c of a parmesan blend cheese. Lined a small bowl with plastic wrap and chilled for a couple hours. Rolled ball into some crushed candied walnuts from Trader Joe's, which was a pleasant contrast to the tangyness of the cheese. Awesome and addicting! Will definitely use this recipe as my base again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Loved this recipe - very flavorful. My husband hit it every day until all leftovers were gone. :) I added shredded cheddar/jack, since I had it on hand. I also used more than 1/2 c of Parmesan, but it was hard to estimate how much, because I was grating by hand. I substituted green onions, as I didn't have chives on hand. Will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was tasty :) I added extra minced garlic and oregano, rolled it in cheddar cheese. When I rolled it into a ball, I used plastic wrap so it wasn't messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a quick and excellent recipe for a cheese spread. At first when I tasted it I thought it tasted a little like ranch spice in cream cheese, even though it is not in there. However, after I tasted some on a wheat cracker it was very good. It almost reminded me of a cream cheese version of Boursin cheese. I also liked that I normally have all of the ingredients in the house but the cream cheese. I even used lite cream cheese and mayo and it didn't seem to be a problem. I made a 1/2 recipe to put on a tray, like the picture suggest, which I might decorate with a jack-o-lantern face for a party tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I can't believe that people actually like this recipe. I usually make mine with just the cream cheese, onion, worsh. sauce and some chopped dried beef, but I thought I'd try something different. The addition of herbs sounded good, but it's not enough. I used fresh chives from my garden, about 1/8 cup, but it didn't give it much flavor so I added a slice of diced onion to it too. 1/2 tsp worsh. sauce? I put in a full tsp and still added more after that. I took it that way and got complaints from the family asking why I didn't put any beef in it. This is a very bland cheese ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very easy and very tasty! We used it for crackers and veggie dip. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This cheeseball is super easy to make and is always requested by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States