Cheddar and Onion Soup Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
We loved this simple and easy recipe! I used 6 chicken breasts and sprinkled garlic powder and paprika to taste while sauting them. Since I had 6 chicken breasts, I stuck with the recipe required 2 cups of water, which resulted in a good, thick gravy. However, I MIGHT reduce the water to 1 1/2 cups if I only make 4 breasts. Also, next time I will not add the cheese until the last 15 minutes of cooking...I like my cheese creamy, not brown and cooked hard to the chicken. Still, the taste was there and we will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This recipe was REALLY good! I changed it up a bit. In the flour, I seasoned it with a pinch of garlic powder, basil, parsley, oregano, crushed red pepper, paprika. Then I pounded out the chicken until it was really thin. Then I coated them in flour, put cheese in the middle, and rolled them up. I then put more cheese (cheddar, mozzarella, and parmesan) on top and put them in the oven. I only used 2 chicken breasts but cut them each in half to make 4 pieces. I only used one cup water and half a pack on onion soup but there WASN'T enough 'gravy'. I will definitley make this again but probably use 3/4 cup water and 3/4 pack of soup. 45 mins is a little too long too. Maybe 30-35 next time!! The boyfriend had NO complaints and my roomate got seconds! I love this recepie! VERY eay to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Found this accidentally one night and had the ingredients on hand and said what the heck and literally whipped the dish together...my roommates (2 very pick boys) FLIPPED for this dish.. home cooked goodness. I have made this dish a couple times since with some slight variations (use bisquick and seasonings in place of plain flour) and a vareity of cheese including parmesan, cheddar and jack... DELICIOUS.. THank you to the originator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is a great meal if: you haven't cooked in a long time and need to get your feet wet; you're in a jam and need something simple. I was both! We enjoyed this dish, especially my husband, but I don't know if I'll make it all that often. To make it healthier, I used olive oil to brown the chicken in, and used wheat germ as the 'flour' to dredge the chicken in, which worked pretty well! I did appreciate the advice of others and added the cheese during the last 15 mins. of cooking. Also, I added cubed red potatoes to the bottom of the baking dish before adding anything else. It made a complete meal, and the potatoes came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
This wasn't bad.. but rather bland. I likely won't be making it again as is.. I may play around with some additional spices to flavor it up. I suggest adding spices if you're going to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Great recipe! So easy and my 6 year old niece even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I was disappointed with this recipe. It was very soupy! After reading other comments, I added less onion soup to lessen the oniony taste, but it was too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
It was very easy, and tasted good. However, it is VERY oniony; I made it for dinner and was still tasting onion at lunch the next day. If I made it again, I would either double the chicken or halve the onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This had such great flavor and smelled awesome while in the oven. I will definately make this again. I added the cheese during the last 10 minutes and cut the chicken into large stips. Definately must use the 9x13 pan. This was a fast and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. I did add salt, pepper and garlic powder to flour for coating chicken breasts before browning. Also added diced tomatoes and white wine to the sauce. Baked uncovered for 30-40 minutes then topped each chicken breast with lots of cheddar cheese for the last 10 minutes of baking time. Delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floral Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States