Cheddar and Onion Soup Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very easy to make and my husband and I loved it. I read what others wrote and also made some changes. I seasoned the flour with garlic, salt, pepper and Italian seasoning and I only used about a cup and a half of water but I did use the whole onion soup packet. I also cut up potatoes and put the chicken on top of them and cooked for 45 minutes adding the cheese 10 minutes before it was done. It came out perfectly and was very tasty, if I had not used potatoes I could see serving over rice or noodles. I had only used 3 chicken breasts and I found that doing it this way there was not too much excess liquid and what there was I spooned over the chicken and potatoes when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
awesome recipe! easy to make & very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was delicious. But, of course, I changed it up a bit to what I had on hand. I used WW Flour and Adobo w/ pepper. Fried in EVOO and Butter using Boneless Skinless Thighs. Put frozen potatoes on bottom of pan as previously suggested. Used Campbells Select Carmelized Onion Soup in a can (1 Medium Can - Aprox 15/16 oz). Poured soup over chicken and baked for 30 minutes and then added cheese for last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Not a big fan of this. The chicken turned out nice and juicy, but the "crust" from the flour and browning it was just mushy. Maybe I did it wrong? The gravy is not gravy...it's just soup. I added some other seasonings to the flour and the flavor was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I decided to try this recipe tonight & it was fantastic! I only tweaked a few minor things. I added in a little bit of garlic powder to the flour & I waited to put the cheese on until the last 15 minutes. I served the chicken over buttered egg noodles. It was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmelane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Le Claire, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. I did add salt, pepper and garlic powder to flour for coating chicken breasts before browning. Also added diced tomatoes and white wine to the sauce. Baked uncovered for 30-40 minutes then topped each chicken breast with lots of cheddar cheese for the last 10 minutes of baking time. Delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floral Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
SUPER YUMMY! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This tasted pretty good considering how easy it was. The sauce was pretty thin, but we just spooned it over the chicken and the rice I made. Will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
this was yummy. i put it over noddles and there was no enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Foreman House

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States