Cheddar and Olive Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
these are great for a party - everyone that likes olives will like these!..................they even freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Wonderful! I used several cheeses (garlic red pepper cheddar, white & yellow cheddar) so it was loaded with flavor. Also used gluten free flour so everyone could enjoy. Rolled out extra dough and cut into small wafers. Had no trouble with baking from room temp. Have some in the freezer ready to pop in the oven whenever the occasion calls for them ...maybe just 5:00! ;>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
For me, this definitely needed a lot of "tweaking" but now is a standard entertaining appetizer! My version 2 cups fresh shred sharp cheddar, 1 cup flour, 1 stick unsalted butter (melted) 1 tablespoon Olive juice (little paprika to taste). I used Trader Joes Jumbo Pimento Queen Olives., form dough around. This next step is the KEY for me-MUST REFRIGERATE at least an hour or two (or freeze for later-I've done it this way and popped them immediately into the oven - no defrost needed). Use parchment paper lined, sprayed with Olive oil spray baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes or so on 400. I serve with a pre made sun dried tomato spread/dip. Always a request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made these for a potluck and they didn't last 5 minutes. They were described as "delightful" and "total mouth orgasm". Made them exactly as per recipe. Will definitely make these again1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was absolutely awesome!! Took to my department Holiday party and they were gone in a flash!!! Everyone raved and wanted the recipe!! Have to make more - some for just me and some for company. They freeze great after you form them, too!- then just pop in the oven on a cookie tray with parchment paper and cook according to the instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My mom has made these for at least 40 years & We can't get enough & never have any left over! We have them every Christmas!I really enjoy seeing how people try different ingredients instead of plain green olives. Try chili powder instead of paprika, gives a little more spice to them. Also it should be 8 oz Cracker Barrel Extra Sharp cheddar not 18 1/2 oz unless you're making them for a high school reunion or family reunion where you have a lot of people to eat them. Cut flour by 1/2 cup to keep them from being TOO dry. I'm going to try cocktail onions (pickled baby onions) instead of green olives. This is a fun recipe to play with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
These are very very tasty! I made this recipe when my kids were babies. It is sooooooo good! Somehow I lost it and I have been looking for it in recipe books for a long time. Thank you for having it on your site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I followed this recipe and it was great, I used pimento stuffed and jalapeno stuffed olives. For my company Christmas party I added diced pepperoni to the pimento stuffed olive dough, and diced fresh jalapeno and diced pepperoni to the jalapeno olive dough, they were the biggest hit. Even those who don't care for olives gave them a try and were impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These weren't as cheesy or flavorful as I expected. They are tasty enough, but not a dish I would rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This has been in my family forever. It's a MUST for cocktail parties. People devour them! I add a splash of Tobasco and Worchestire to it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States