Cheddar and Olive Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I used the largest jalepeno-stuffed olives I could find and made a half-batch. I also tried using meatballs, instead of olives, but it got a little dry. I served them at a party and they were the first thing to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I was in a pinch for some party food so I made these. I baked a few today and froze the rest for tomorrow night's party. They taste absolutely fantastic! I didn't even get to chill today's, and they came out nice and round. I think I might have used less cheese than the recipe called for. The cheese I used was Jalepeno Jack, which seems to give it a good flavor. I used tiny olives without pimentos. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I've made these for years - I always keep the pimento in the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These are delicious! I couldn't bake them fast enough at our christmas party. I made them the night before and froze them, then baked them in three batches -- terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
These are wonderful going by the recipe exactly. For a variation and a real kid pleaser - do not wipe the olives dry before wrapping in Cheese dough. While baking, the cheese mixture slides off a little and has a wonderful sun flower appearance that is lacey, crunchy cheese surrounding the olive. Discovered this by accident! Be sure to bake on parchment paper and they slide right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
sooooo good! A must for olive lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I lost a very similar recipe years ago and couldn't remember the proportions. This is a great appetizer -- I also used cayenne instead of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!! I used 5 different kinds of cheese. Yellow sharp cheddar, white cheddar, monterary jack, american and mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I couldn't stop eating these once they came out of the oven! Fabulous! They are a little time consuming so I would recommend making them up in advance and freezing as recommended, especially if you are the one having the party. I made them and baked them a day in advance for a Thanksgiving get-together and they were a little dry the next day, especially after storing in a cooler to keep them fresh while travelling. They did, however, reheat nicely at 250º for about 10 mins. and tasted nearly as good as the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This was very well received. I used all stuffed pitted olives and varied between garlic stuffed, sundried tomato and jalepeno. Some thought the jalepeno ones was too hot, but rest were gobbled up. I also substituted cayenne for paprika....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States