Cheddar and Olive Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were really good! I only used 16 oz. of cheese, because that's all I had, and they were still super cheesy! I was *really worried that it wasn't going to work out when I added the flour, and had nothing but a bunch of crumbs that looked NOTHING like dough. You really do have to get your hands in there and mix it up, the heat from your hands will soften the cheese and butter so it will form a dough. I got close to 70 olives out of this recipe. They tasted great, very cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Love, love, loved these! They came out just perfect...and I followed the recipe to a T. I will be making these again...for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These turned out really well, I did prepare them ahead of time and placed in fridge for a couple of hours before baking since I had other appy's that we were making. I also cut back some on the olives and added some green onion to the mix, but that is our personal preference. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
My friend's mother served these at a party and I was glad to find the recipe. Made them for a pot luck and everyone enjoyed them as an appetizer. The one mistake I made was melting the butter. It was an oversight and it did change the shape of the balls to disks. They tasted great all the same. This is the perfect blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjdavis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Wow! So delicious and easy! I did use cayenne instead of paprika which gave them a great kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Sorry, these were just okay. They never really get crispy. They're good, but not excellent or anything. I probably wouldn't make them again, but they were still worth eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I brought these to a party and they were devoured! I recommend adding 1 tsp. cayenne in place of the paprika - this gives it a nice kick. Also, these are great when frozen uncooked and then cooked from frozen. I love cooking these on a piece of stoneware - they come out perfect! Crisp on the outside and moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
These are fabulous! Tasty, cheesy. Very easy to make, the kids like to help. But they are not good cold, you have to bake in batches so they get eaten when hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
a little dry to my liking, and found that unless the person likes green olives, one might have some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made these this past weekend for a large party and unfortunately my cheese balls ended up being "olive cheese hats" and they were delicious and very well received. One guest asked me if I'd make them for him for a Christmas gift. Was actually very funny and they tasted awesome, just melted in the oven. I think the cheese mixture was too warm so when placed in the oven, they melted around the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States