Cheddar and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
A nice, quick recipe. It does need a little something, and it tends to get a little dry after being in the fridge several hours (add a little more mayo and/or milk, and that helps a lot). I've made it a few times, and I'm still tweaking it. Garlic powder helps! I made it yesterday, added a little leftover chopped cooked chicken. That would make a great light lunch, would be awesome at work! Could probably add tuna without hurting the recipe... Oh, one more thing: I always put in dill relish instead of sweet relish, the pickle adds extra yumminess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Held back a star because I made some crucial changes that seriously change the taste of the dish. I do NOT like sweet relish (I know most cold salads like this always use it, so I change it!), instead I used dill...and more of it...more like 1/4 cup. I added a little chopped cucumber (seeds removed), a dash of garlic powder, and used green onion in place of regular onion. Great base recipe though. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was a good recipe. The only adjustment I made was adding two hard boiled eggs. It seems the dressing was the perfect amount and didn't make it overly creamy like so many other recipes do. I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is by far the best macaroni salad recipe I have ever tasted! Its easy to make and everytime I've served it, the recipe is requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
My first macaroni salad. It looked good and I made it according to the recipe, except I added a little more mayo, but it just didn't taste right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Brady, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
All I can say is WOW!!Great recipe!We skipped the celery and used sliced carrots and omitted the peas but other than we followed the recipe to a "T".This was a big hit for a 4th of july picnic and we will definitely make again!Good Stuff!!We substituted scallions for the onions to give it a little more zing also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I loved the recipe. I have been buying this type of salad from my local supermarket and found making it fresh was much better. I omitted the celery and peas and added sandwich pepperoni, salt, pepper and a dash of chipotle chilli powder for some zing.(This is smokey so use sparingly). Outstanding taste, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Eh. I made this alongside "Amish Macaroni Salad" and "Cooking Light's Macaroni Salad" (from this site), and this recipe came in last. My husband and I found it boring and bland, although the peas and cheddar are a nice touch. I think I'll keep looking, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
was pretty good, i added eggs to mine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Got compliments when I served it at cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States