Cheddar and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is THE macaroni salad my family and friends absolutely love. I've been making this salad for years, but do change the vegetable ingredients at times, according to what I have on hand. Instead of using all green pepper, I might use half green, half red, red onion or green onions if regular onions are not in the fridge. For the cheddar, I use a mixture of 1 part orange cheddar & 2 parts white cheddar, as I'm more fond of white chedder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Best Macaroni salad EVER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was very bland...even moreso the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
very good and easy, can add ham pieces also. I didn't use much onion and mine was a little strong but that could have been the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was my first time making a pasta salad and I found this one dries up ALOT after being in the fridge overnight. I had to add more milk and mayo and oil to make it move cause it had stiffened up. The sweet relish really brought out a great taste, but I will not use cheese next time cause it actually subtracts from the flavor. I adjusted the recipe a bit by adding eggs, raisins, a purple onion, and corn!! I will make this again, but will tweak it some more until i get it just right ...in the meantime I am rating this pretty low ...sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haji Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kms4181

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I thought it came out bland so I added a packet of ranch and added a little more sour cream and it was really good. I took it to a party and someone there told me it was the best pasta salad they had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
The whole family liked this and I liked the flavor as well. I added a little bit of extra sour cream since we love it around here. I also added garlic powder, salt, pepper, dill, and chives to spice it up and it needed it. I think it would have been bland otherwise. I would have taken 1 star off because it was a little dry but my daughter wouldn't let me- she loved this. Next time, I will just double the sauce part and add a little more milk to make it creamier. This does make a large bowl and we ate it all in 2 days. Thanks for sharing- this is a great recipe with a few tweaks. By the way, I loved the cheese. It would probably be even better with a sharp cheddar instead of mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
ok, not great. something seemed "off" with the taste, can't explain it. it just needed something else to give it a little "zip"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe was very good,made some small changes though to suit my taste. I left out the relish, milk and peas added some dill as someone else had mentioned, i also used yellow bell pepper because thats what i had and a bit more dressing . Overall a very good base to start from mabey next time i would even add some cherrie tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie2003
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States