Cheddar-Topped Veggie Beef Skillet Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This meal was very good! I would recommend adding a little salt to the water for the barley. I was tempted to add more zucchini than the recipe called for but I felt for the first time I should make the recipe exactly as directed. The amount of zucchini was just perfect so I'm glad I didn't add more. Like another reviewer said, the cheese is good but you don't really need it. Beause I have a cholesterol problem, I put a little cheese on part of my meal, then left it off the rest of it. As good as it was I felt it was missing a little something but ketchup took care of that! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Easy dinner. Used cauliflower (only veg I had) and salsa. Terrific. Served it on nacho chips for kids, on a cooked potatoe for healthy option. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great Supper!! Not too difficult and lots of healthy tasty flavors. I made it vegetarian by using veggie burger crumbles instead of beef. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Awesome way to use a bunch of garden veggies! Substituted quinoa for barley, and it really doesn't need the cheese, in my opinion. Wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
absolutely loved this! I didn't have kidney beans, so I used canned lentils. Wasn't sure how it would be with the lentils, but it was actually very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaraAllen
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I pretty much made this tonight, without having seen this recipe. Being a casserole, you can change things as you see fit. I used cumin instead of oregano/basil, canned diced tomatoes, canned tomato sauce, no zucchini nor beans, and folded in spinach at the very end. I was awesome! I also used some of it to stuff those mini bell peppers (see photos). They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaraAllen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I left out the kidney beans because we aren't bean people and I didn't have any but otherwise this was delicious. Warm and hearty and perfect for a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I left out the barley. Thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smithchelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States