Cheddar-Topped Veggie Beef Skillet Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was a pretty yummy recipe. I used quinoa instead of barley and added more veggies than it called for. The instructions said to bring it to a boil however there was no liquid to boil once all the ingredients were put together so I added some water, maybe a cup or so. I thought the flavors were pretty good, my husband added a little taco sauce for extra flavor/spice and ate it with chips (he needs something crunchy with his food). I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Romark
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Changed a couple of things. Substituted a cup and a half of low sodium beef broth for half of the water when cooking the barley. Added a little water along with the peppers because mixture was getting too dry. We liked the meal, but it lacked a little spice for our taste, or we would give it a five. Next time I'll either double the spices or add a little cumin and chili powder (maybe both).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This meal was very good! I would recommend adding a little salt to the water for the barley. I was tempted to add more zucchini than the recipe called for but I felt for the first time I should make the recipe exactly as directed. The amount of zucchini was just perfect so I'm glad I didn't add more. Like another reviewer said, the cheese is good but you don't really need it. Beause I have a cholesterol problem, I put a little cheese on part of my meal, then left it off the rest of it. As good as it was I felt it was missing a little something but ketchup took care of that! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Easy dinner. Used cauliflower (only veg I had) and salsa. Terrific. Served it on nacho chips for kids, on a cooked potatoe for healthy option. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great Supper!! Not too difficult and lots of healthy tasty flavors. I made it vegetarian by using veggie burger crumbles instead of beef. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Awesome way to use a bunch of garden veggies! Substituted quinoa for barley, and it really doesn't need the cheese, in my opinion. Wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
absolutely loved this! I didn't have kidney beans, so I used canned lentils. Wasn't sure how it would be with the lentils, but it was actually very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaraAllen
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I pretty much made this tonight, without having seen this recipe. Being a casserole, you can change things as you see fit. I used cumin instead of oregano/basil, canned diced tomatoes, canned tomato sauce, no zucchini nor beans, and folded in spinach at the very end. I was awesome! I also used some of it to stuff those mini bell peppers (see photos). They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaraAllen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I left out the kidney beans because we aren't bean people and I didn't have any but otherwise this was delicious. Warm and hearty and perfect for a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I left out the barley. Thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smithchelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States