Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Made these last night with some beef brisket. Cut back on the thyme and found that the sugar made them a little too sweet for my taste. A tip for everyone - put your butter in the freezer for about 15 minutes until really cold and then using the large holes on your grater, grate the butter into the flour mixture. This makes it easier to incorporate the butter and makes a great flaky biscuit. I will definitely make these again but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
First time biscuit maker! I really liked them. Didn’t use thyme or cream of tartar. I used block cheddar and I shredded it myself, made the biscuits tastier. The dough was incredible easier to work with. I cut the circles using a disposable plastic cup, the size was perfect. Next time I think I’m going to use less sugar and maybe add some bacon into the dough. I’ll keep you posted. Hope the review helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Superb! If the limit were not 5 stars, I could have given it a lot more. I happened to have some cheddar cheese and fresh thyme on hand or I might not have made this - and I'm so glad I did - it's absolutely scrumptious. And I think I'm going to try substituting other fresh herbs for the thyme - with rosemary and then with dill. Not that the thyme isn't as good as anything needs to be - yum - but just because I think it might be equally good in other ways to go with various foods. I baked these biscuits till they were light golden brown, and then put them on top of a nice, heated, beef burgundy stew and baked it like that for a few more minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Perfect as is. I experimented with using 1 1/2 cups of white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and that worked very well too. Next time I'm going to try sprinkling a little grated cheese on top just before baking, in addition to the cheese mixed in the batter. This is a good biscuit to serve with gravy, or to make breadfast sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I've been searching for the perfect biscuit for a while now, and i've just found it. Flavourful, moist but still flaky, these were delicious! I'd make these again at the drop of a hat. I did have to add a touch of extra milk, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I reduced the amount of thyme and wished I had not. I reduced the amount of sugar to a mere 2 teaspoons and was very glad I did. When I removed the biscuits from the oven I brushed them with melted butter to which I added garlic powder and dried parsley flakes (fresh is always an option too). I found these to be perfectly risen, tender and salted just right for optimal flavor. Had I used the entire amount of sugar called for, however, I think I'd be singing a different song.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were so delicious. They are just like the biscuits served at Red Lobster seafood restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were tasty and baked up great. I think the 3T of sugar was a little too sweet for me, as I was making the biscuits for sausage/gravy at breakfast. Next time I would use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAPHNE89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These were soooo good. I didn't have thyme so I just used cheddar and they were still delicious. Letting the dough sit for a while extra (15 minutes) made them rise a bit more and look more biscuit-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
A little too sweet, but otherwise very good. Nice texture and I love the cheddar-thyme combo. Great with beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States