Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I loved these! I used less sugar than the recipe called for, and buttermilk instead of regular milk. I also used whatever cheese I had which was some sliced porvalone (I chopped it) and some shredded cheddar cheese. However what really made them special was using a suggestion from another reviewer. I put the butter in the freezer for about 15 minutes, then grated it before incorporating into the flour. They came out super flakey! and the chopped provalone browned quite nicely adding to the flavor:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
With all the five star ratings, I admit that I was rather disappointed at the results. I made this recipe exactly as written. The biscuits were way too sweet for my liking (they were almost cake-sweet), and there was also too much salt in them, as I got an after-taste of salt when I took a bite. I did eat two biscuits to make a good judgment. One on the day I baked them, and one the next day, microwaved. They were a little better the second day. The real problem with the recipe is that the flavor of the biscuits are just out of balance. They did rise nicely, however, hence the 2 stars. I think that this recipe might have potential, but I haven't decided if I will try it again with some alterations, or just look for another recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe, but I'm just not too sure about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was looking for a biscuit recipe that did not call for buttermilk because I only had regular milk on hand. These were great! Mine took a little longer to cook because I made them bigger....but delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are great! I was looking for a simple biscuit mix to throw together quickly, and these worked! I slightly modified it to what I had available-- for the cheeses I threw together a little bit of cheddar, mozzarella, provolone and parmesan, used regular almond milk instead of milk, and added a 1/3 cup of sour cream, and italian seasoning for the thyme. These are friggin DELICIOUS. Fantastic. Great ratios and proportions, will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelbyO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Just made them 30 minutes ago and they were superbly flaky and yummy. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 Tbsp but next time, I am going to go even lower and put only 1 Tbsp. I added fresh chives instead of thyme, used 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour and the rest white, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Amazing! Really easy delicious biscuits~ Took no time to put together and 15 minutes to bake. I followed other suggestions: grated frozen butter on box grater, used 1 tsp dried thyme, skipped cream of tartar (had none). The biscuits are fluffy and light. They will be a hit at a baby shower lunch on Sunday. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
i wanted a basis to make some green chili cheddar biscuits and this was a winner! i didn't use any sugar and left out the thyme in favor of most of a can of chopped green chilis that i drained and dried off a little with paper towels. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These came out great. Nice and light. Very versatile. Just change up the cheeses and herbs for different flavors or omit them all together for an all around great biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Really good biscuits. I had some fresh thyme that I needed to use and I found this recipe for Father's Day dinner. I did follow some of the advice from the other reviews. I didn't use cream of tartar and I used 3 Tbsps of thyme instead of 1. I also froze my butter for 15 min and then grated it on a box grater. It made it so much easier to incorporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I successfully made cut-out biscuits! I really liked this recipe, followed the directions to a T and it worked beautifully. In the past, none of the cut-out biscuits ever turned out so obviously I am very excited that I got it this time. I loved the slightly sweet taste that the sugar gave to the biscuit. Not too sweet, but sweet enough to give it a slightly different taste. Thanks for a great recipe, Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States