Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I love thyme so I knew I would like these but I was wrong. I loved them. Next time I will cut the sugar a bit and add a little more cheese because I love cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
A little too sweet, but otherwise very good. Nice texture and I love the cheddar-thyme combo. Great with beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My 14 yr. old son has made these twice & they are wonderful! He doesn't put any thyme in them because they would be too much like a stuffing for us. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We made these for Christmas dinner and they were delicious! The whole family raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Instead of thyme, I put in ranch seasoning, and replaced part of the milk with ranch dressing. OH WOW. So tasty. The texture of these biscuits is quite good. They are light and fluffy, not heavy hard hockey pucks! Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
these were ok- they were not the flaky type I was hoping for, they were on the crumbly side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I loved these! I used less sugar than the recipe called for, and buttermilk instead of regular milk. I also used whatever cheese I had which was some sliced porvalone (I chopped it) and some shredded cheddar cheese. However what really made them special was using a suggestion from another reviewer. I put the butter in the freezer for about 15 minutes, then grated it before incorporating into the flour. They came out super flakey! and the chopped provalone browned quite nicely adding to the flavor:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
With all the five star ratings, I admit that I was rather disappointed at the results. I made this recipe exactly as written. The biscuits were way too sweet for my liking (they were almost cake-sweet), and there was also too much salt in them, as I got an after-taste of salt when I took a bite. I did eat two biscuits to make a good judgment. One on the day I baked them, and one the next day, microwaved. They were a little better the second day. The real problem with the recipe is that the flavor of the biscuits are just out of balance. They did rise nicely, however, hence the 2 stars. I think that this recipe might have potential, but I haven't decided if I will try it again with some alterations, or just look for another recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe, but I'm just not too sure about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was looking for a biscuit recipe that did not call for buttermilk because I only had regular milk on hand. These were great! Mine took a little longer to cook because I made them bigger....but delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are great! I was looking for a simple biscuit mix to throw together quickly, and these worked! I slightly modified it to what I had available-- for the cheeses I threw together a little bit of cheddar, mozzarella, provolone and parmesan, used regular almond milk instead of milk, and added a 1/3 cup of sour cream, and italian seasoning for the thyme. These are friggin DELICIOUS. Fantastic. Great ratios and proportions, will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelbyO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States