Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
A new favorite in our house. Love it with soups! Altered a bit: 1 tsp dried thyme instead of fresh. Added garlic powder and onion powder to taste. Used only 2 tsp sugar per others' suggestions. I don't have the time to roll out and cut with kids running around so I just used my cookie scoop and dropped rounded balls into a muffin tin! Works just as well and it's way less work in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
By far the best cheddar biscuit recipe on this site!! The cream of tartar really makes it flaky. Don't skip it!! As recommended by others I grated the butter into the dry ingredients and then tossed the shredded cheese into the dry ingredients. Except for those two adjustments to the process I followed the recipe exactly. Looking forward to trying it with different herbs. Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love these! The only modifications I made to this recipe was using dried thyme, as I did not have any fresh on hand, and using a gluten free baking mix (Pamela's) as I do not eat gluten. While the biscuits did not rise as much as they would have done if I had used regular wheat flour the texture was great and the flavor was superb! I also used the tip of grating the butter into the flour mixture and I sifted my dry ingredients to help lighten the dough. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I reduced the amount of thyme and wished I had not. I reduced the amount of sugar to a mere 2 teaspoons and was very glad I did. When I removed the biscuits from the oven I brushed them with melted butter to which I added garlic powder and dried parsley flakes (fresh is always an option too). I found these to be perfectly risen, tender and salted just right for optimal flavor. Had I used the entire amount of sugar called for, however, I think I'd be singing a different song.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Mmmm, very good! I wanted a recipe for cheese biscuits that didn't call for baking mix. Sure seems like a lot of them on Allrecipes do. At least, almost every one I clicked on did. I haven't bought bisquick since someone told me it's loaded with trans fat. Is it? I've never actually looked. Yes, they are a bit sweet but I liked them. Easy enough to cut back the sugar a bit if you don't think you'd like a sweeter biscuit. I didn't have thyme so I used a bit of minced garlic and dill. Served with homemade borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I mix it up and put rosemary in these instead of thyme sometimes... These are my go-to biscuits now -- they only take a few minutes to mix up, making them take about the same amount of time as the "canned" biscuits -- but these taste and smell and LOOK so much better! My guy does not like the green herbs in them, so I'm going to try adding some garlic powder to the next batch instead, YUM!! Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
We loved these. This recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I greatly enjoy when I can find a recipe and follow the directions to a T and have it turn out great. I was extremely pleased with this one and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't care too much for these. I was looking for something filling to go with soup. Maybe, I am a traditionalist when it comes to biscuits, but the thyme just didn't work for me. I used 1 tsp. dried for the 1 Tblsp. according to information from on-line. It was going to be baked and dry anyhow. I can see the thyme and cheddar combination working in something more dense like a scone. I did use low-fat dairy products, and it seemed to be no problem with the texture. Just tasted like a decent biscuit recipe with cheese and thyme oddly thrown in. I am not sure how to improve it. Maybe, brush a flavored butter on top, like the cheddar bay biscuits, not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States