Cheddar Pennies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe. I am a 12 year old girl, and for me it was so easy and fast! For my dad's birthday i made it as a starter than i followed it by a main course and a desert!! My dad and my family LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank You so much!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I'm a grown up but I thought this was a fun recipe to make and tasted good to eat. I would suggest that for older kids and adults you might want to increase the salt and cayenne pepper a bit or experiment with other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Very crumbly. There was no way that these were going to roll into logs. I rolled them in hand and pressed them into rounds. I didn't see any need to grease a baking sheet, as these are heavy in butter and the fat in the cheese. I rated them well overall, though. Very tasty! They taste great with garlic and onion powder mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Was fun to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
The dough was a little too dry, I agree that it didn't want to roll up into a log and am not sure refridgeration would have helped. I think next time I will use a lot more cheese and up the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Tasted like Cheez-its, but not as good. Was more like a meal than a dough, and would not form logs without much handling. Maybe more spices, very sharp cheddar, and adding a bit of water to make more doughlike. They look cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
i tried this recipe and neither my husband nor i liked it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Years ago when I pregnant with my youngest daughter, my doctor had just informed me that I had yet another "toes first" baby and that I was going to have a scheduled C-section again. With that, he handed me a sort of cheddar cracker. I could taste the cayenne and something crispy. I loved them and have been searching for a similar recipe since. I found this purely by accident yesterday and although some of the reviews were less than favorable, I decided to give them a try. Not that this is going to be of much help because I didn't measure anything, however, you experienced cooks out there will know what I mean. I used whatever shredded cheddar I had left over and put it in the food processor. I added my butter, a lot more cayenne than called for, some seasonings and about a third cup of flour. I pulsed and kept adding flour, a little at a time until it looked right. The dough was nice and moist and easy to handle. I also folded in a single serving of rice crispy's. I made them more like quarters and baked for about forty minutes. They were excellent and very much like what I had eaten in Dr. Cohen's office. Thanks Adrienne for a really good start and for the extra five pounds I probably gained yesterday munching on these little goodies. The kids and hubby loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
These pennies are good. Mine were pretty crumbly but had a big cheese taste. My son didn't care for them, but that was a while back. Maybe I'll give them another try in the future...see if he's changed his mind. Thanks Adrienne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
As suggested by another reviewer, I ended up just breaking pieces of dough and kind of flattening out to the shape of a penny. I added water to the dough, because I had a crumbly mess with just the butter. That probably messed up the dough by doing that, but just the melted butter did not work. I was the only one in the house that did not care for these, and part of that may have been frustration. They're not terrible, and if you have a lot of patience these may work for you, but I doubt I will make these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States