Cheddar Pennies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Years ago when I pregnant with my youngest daughter, my doctor had just informed me that I had yet another "toes first" baby and that I was going to have a scheduled C-section again. With that, he handed me a sort of cheddar cracker. I could taste the cayenne and something crispy. I loved them and have been searching for a similar recipe since. I found this purely by accident yesterday and although some of the reviews were less than favorable, I decided to give them a try. Not that this is going to be of much help because I didn't measure anything, however, you experienced cooks out there will know what I mean. I used whatever shredded cheddar I had left over and put it in the food processor. I added my butter, a lot more cayenne than called for, some seasonings and about a third cup of flour. I pulsed and kept adding flour, a little at a time until it looked right. The dough was nice and moist and easy to handle. I also folded in a single serving of rice crispy's. I made them more like quarters and baked for about forty minutes. They were excellent and very much like what I had eaten in Dr. Cohen's office. Thanks Adrienne for a really good start and for the extra five pounds I probably gained yesterday munching on these little goodies. The kids and hubby loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
i tried this recipe and neither my husband nor i liked it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Tasted like Cheez-its, but not as good. Was more like a meal than a dough, and would not form logs without much handling. Maybe more spices, very sharp cheddar, and adding a bit of water to make more doughlike. They look cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
The dough was a little too dry, I agree that it didn't want to roll up into a log and am not sure refridgeration would have helped. I think next time I will use a lot more cheese and up the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Was fun to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Very crumbly. There was no way that these were going to roll into logs. I rolled them in hand and pressed them into rounds. I didn't see any need to grease a baking sheet, as these are heavy in butter and the fat in the cheese. I rated them well overall, though. Very tasty! They taste great with garlic and onion powder mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I'm a grown up but I thought this was a fun recipe to make and tasted good to eat. I would suggest that for older kids and adults you might want to increase the salt and cayenne pepper a bit or experiment with other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe. I am a 12 year old girl, and for me it was so easy and fast! For my dad's birthday i made it as a starter than i followed it by a main course and a desert!! My dad and my family LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank You so much!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States