Cheddar Pennies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I read the reviews BEFORE making the recipe, so I did as follows: 1 and 1/2 sticks butter, added 2T water, cut flour to 1 and 3/4 cups. My kids absolutely LOVE these, but I have to say for my taste they are pretty bland. Cooked up fine, but the flour taste is a bit overwhelming. Next time I will try to add a pinch of garlic salt or some kind of seasoning to drown the flour taste - the additional water was necessary to keep the dough together, so I would definately add that step to the recipe. Good basis to start off with, though. Thanks for the recipe, am anxious to put my own spin on it - the kids are gobbling them up like they're chocolate! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Onawa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
These were pretty good. I put in Chili Powder instead of Cayenne. It turned out real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I was looking for a kid-friendly snack recipe, and this was IT! The littles all helped to knead the dough (I used grated cheese, and added an additional 1/2 stick of butter, as the dough was way too crumbly to work with without the addition of the extra butter) and roll them out. The kids had fun with these, and they were delish as well! Next time, I'll use dill, instead of the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
YUMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! these were so good! true, it was difficult to get the dough to work, but i just kept adding milk until it was ok. you don't even have to roll them into logs, you can just flatten them. wow, i'm definately making these again, and i'm making a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
GREAT BASIC RECIPE, JUST A FEW CLARYFICATIONS NEEDED... You may be wondering if the cheddar cheese should be melted or grated or chunked... well, I've tried it all 3 ways... grated is fine, just increase the butter by 1/2 cup and increase the salt by 1/2 teaspoon, at least. You can tweek this recipe as you please as far as pepper, garlic salt, add'l seasonings, etc., add hot water or more melted butter to make it pliable. I've done this cutting it, like it reads, and also, by rolling balls and crushing them with a glass to flatten. The skys the limit as far as flavorings... I perfected this to use in my Christmas Baskets this year. In a vaccuumed package, these crackers will last a month or more... don't be afraid to wet the dough, until your comfortable with it, thats the key. Happy Snacking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I have tried 2 times to make these. The recipe sounds delicious but I think that there must be something that I am doing wrong. So, my rating is as much on myself as the recipe. They are too crumbly when I make them and I have tried to add more butter and even water to make them easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I make this for my grandma because she can't have too much sweets. Very easy to make and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mournfields

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I WAS VERY EXCITED TO TRY THESE. I THOUGHT THE RECIPE WAS LIKE THE LITTLE CHEESE CRACKERS THAT SOME PEOPLE PUT PECANS IN. WELL THE DOUGH WAS NOT WORKABLE IT WAS VERY CRUMBLY I TRIED REFRIGERATING IT BUT THAT DIDNT HELP.THE END RESULT WAS A BLAND FLOURY "COOKIE" THAT I THREW OUT.MAYBE I DID IT WRONG GOOD LUCK TO THOSE THAT TRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I just finished making my first batch and they're great. However, I goofed when I went shopping and picked up the wrong cheese (Mexican mix instead of Chedder). I used the Mexican Mix and omitted the cayenne. Next time, I'll try it with chedder. As for now, I just hope they last til Easter :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
YUMMY! This made a WONDERFUL recipe for my VERY picky Kiddos. We made this to go along with the Labor Day theme! I would suggest however, cutting the flour down to 1 3/4 cup, using 1 and a 1/2 sticks of butter melted, and adding 2 T. of water to the mixture otherwise it is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States