Cheddar Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Amazingly good! Very caramel-ly! I was lazy and didn't want to bother with a pie crust, so just made it as a crisp. I even left the peels on. I will make this again and again (a good way to use up too many ripe pears).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Melin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was amazing. I made it with combination of two types of pears and some granny smith apples. Next time, I might even make it as a crumble/crisp because the crust was not even needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've been meaning to write my review for a few weeks now...after having made this pie 3 times already this Fall. I wasn't too sure about the Cheddar cheese but was it ever the best! The topping is just sweet enough to offset the pear filling. We had so many left-over pears and this was a wonderful way to use them up. I even made a pie for my neighbors..they loved it! Thanks much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Delicious My son-in-law tried to eat it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
YUMMY! Made it exact and loved it! Used sharp cheddar but you really don't taste the cheese - will probably use a little more next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very good, but I'd like it better with sharp cheddar cheese. Family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
In france they have cheese after the meal and then dessert. this is like the combined two if you didnt think you had space for the both. really awesome and made it with Roblochon instead of cheddar which is the special cheese of the area. i also didnt have a pie crust, or any cornstarch or enough flour so i used oats and bread crumbs in replace of the both. suuuper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So good, have made twice. One time I used fresh pears the other time canned (fresh was better but canned still tasted dang good). I used one full cup os sharp cheese and I didnt have cornstarch so I used flour. 1 tblsp of cornstarch= 2 tblsp of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carleezank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I made this as mini pies in a muffin tin when I realized I had no available pie plates! This was good, but I was expecting a little more from the cheddar; I couldn't even tell it was there. This does taste like apple pie, just a touched more sweet. This is def worth trying & I will prob make it again, should I have pears in need of using in the future. If I make it again, I think I'll shred my own cheese (used pre-shredded from a bag) and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have made this recipe several times. Super easy and a family favorite - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANNADAV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States