Cheddar Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Delicious My son-in-law tried to eat it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I haven't made this recipe myself yet, but every time I go to visit Mommachef it is on my request list. Mommachef is a fabulous cook and it says a lot that out of her arsenal of awesome this is one that we come back to again and again. Thanks for posting the recipe--I'm sure it will be in my oven very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Wow!! What a good pie! I thought a pear pie would be too bland, but this recipe has lots of flavor and the crunchy topping adds even more. Might be too sweet for some, but I liked it and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Amazingly good! Very caramel-ly! I was lazy and didn't want to bother with a pie crust, so just made it as a crisp. I even left the peels on. I will make this again and again (a good way to use up too many ripe pears).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Melin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is really good - the cheddar is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was AMAZING! I added some cloves by accident which I think made it even better. Next time I'll use more cheddar, or sharper cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Williams, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've been meaning to write my review for a few weeks now...after having made this pie 3 times already this Fall. I wasn't too sure about the Cheddar cheese but was it ever the best! The topping is just sweet enough to offset the pear filling. We had so many left-over pears and this was a wonderful way to use them up. I even made a pie for my neighbors..they loved it! Thanks much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was excellent. I've made two different pies and used some old home canned fruit (one was peaches, one was apples). It turned out great. Family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was amazing. I made it with combination of two types of pears and some granny smith apples. Next time, I might even make it as a crumble/crisp because the crust was not even needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
From the reviews I thought this is going to be an excellent pie, but it didn't live up to my hopes. This was my very first pie ever! I was confused as how big of a pie shell does this 6 cups of pears need. It'd have been easier for me. I've settled with 9" pie shell. It was probably a bad choice. I had 5 cups of pears after chopping, and it was full! I mean overflowing, the "crumbles" were heaping over the top. Oh, the crumbles! I don't know what was wrong, but I followed the recipe... and with a pastry blender I was cutting in the butter... it was a disaster! It didn't work out for me. The dry ingredients were too much and did not cling to the butter the next second it was a mush. I had to kind of scrape it in little bits on top of the pie. My husband loves it though. I think it is just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States