Cheddar Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This pie was incredible!! Made it to take to my mother-in-law. We all were skeptical at first, but then we all had to have seconds!! It was gone in no time with 5 of us!!! Definitally a keeper. My husband won't eat pears once they soften. I always hated to throw them away. Very happy to have this recipe!!! Will make this again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
delicious! don't be scared off by the cheddar. a big hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Dawless Haller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Easton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Did not change a thing. Bought my own pie crust. Was very very good! Pears were very sweet.Bartlett pears were used. People thought it was an apple pie. Will make again. (I could not taste the cheese, might increase it the next time and/or use sharp as stated by other users)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
No good at all the first day. Very weird to mix a mild pear flavor with a strong cheese flavor. It was much better the second and third day. Still, not enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Awesome recipe!!! I was stuck in the same 'ol rut and wanted something new and different. Family was balking when they heard I was making a Cheddar-Pear Pie, But everyone LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Ehrhardt Griswold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So good, have made twice. One time I used fresh pears the other time canned (fresh was better but canned still tasted dang good). I used one full cup os sharp cheese and I didnt have cornstarch so I used flour. 1 tblsp of cornstarch= 2 tblsp of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carleezank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this pie last night to test it out before Thanksgiving dinner. Its AMAZING! Everyone was skeptical of the name but it is delicous. I used a refrigerated pie crust that wasnt very deep so I had enough filling for two pies. If you are planning on using this type of crust I would be prepared to have filling for two pies or cut down the amount of pairs you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have made this pie twice now--it is absolutely the tastiest pie recipe I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
It was a great foundational recipe, and I would make it again. I had less pears than required, so I threw in an apple. I also used sharp cheddar, though it was *not* very evident in the taste of the pie. It has a great fruit pie flavor, and I think next time I would add chopped walnuts to the crumble topping for nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I received this recipe in the Pie Countdown email and it just sounded too interesting to not try. It was very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written and used Bosc pears which held up quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States