Cheddar Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this pie last night to test it out before Thanksgiving dinner. Its AMAZING! Everyone was skeptical of the name but it is delicous. I used a refrigerated pie crust that wasnt very deep so I had enough filling for two pies. If you are planning on using this type of crust I would be prepared to have filling for two pies or cut down the amount of pairs you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have made this pie twice now--it is absolutely the tastiest pie recipe I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
It was a great foundational recipe, and I would make it again. I had less pears than required, so I threw in an apple. I also used sharp cheddar, though it was *not* very evident in the taste of the pie. It has a great fruit pie flavor, and I think next time I would add chopped walnuts to the crumble topping for nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I received this recipe in the Pie Countdown email and it just sounded too interesting to not try. It was very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written and used Bosc pears which held up quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Fantastic pie. I had been having a craving for pie and got this in my e-mail and wanted to try it. It wasn't hard at all. I put a little more topping than called for but the rest of it followed to the letter. I gave 4 stars because it was a bit runny, but it maybe even better tomorrow, we'll have to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is by far the best pie. I originally made this many years ago and I was the only one who ate it -- the guys at my house thought it was "okay'. This year I have received an abundance of pears and have probably made it at least a half dozen times. It is that good and my siblings liked it so it is a good potluck dish. I do recommend using the sharp cheddar cheese though to balance out the sweetness of the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is really good! I made exactly as directed and the only change that I would make next time is that I would add a little more cheese (could not taste it at all!). My entire family enjoyed it and I think that it will make it to my Thanksgiving table. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was a huge hit and I'm making it again this weekend....Definately give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly but was disappointed in the results. The flavor of the pie was great, but the cheese gave the topping a weird, chewy consistency insteady of a crispy, crumbly one, which I expected. Is that the way it's supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very good, but I'd like it better with sharp cheddar cheese. Family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States