Cheddar Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very good flavor. I omitted the crust and made cheddar pear crisp. I also added a dash of cloves, 3/4 tsp. minced ginger, and replaced the cornstarch with 1 tbs. tapioca. This recieved rave reviews from everyone who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Delicious My son-in-law tried to eat it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I haven't made this recipe myself yet, but every time I go to visit Mommachef it is on my request list. Mommachef is a fabulous cook and it says a lot that out of her arsenal of awesome this is one that we come back to again and again. Thanks for posting the recipe--I'm sure it will be in my oven very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Wow!! What a good pie! I thought a pear pie would be too bland, but this recipe has lots of flavor and the crunchy topping adds even more. Might be too sweet for some, but I liked it and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Amazingly good! Very caramel-ly! I was lazy and didn't want to bother with a pie crust, so just made it as a crisp. I even left the peels on. I will make this again and again (a good way to use up too many ripe pears).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is really good - the cheddar is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was AMAZING! I added some cloves by accident which I think made it even better. Next time I'll use more cheddar, or sharper cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Williams, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've been meaning to write my review for a few weeks now...after having made this pie 3 times already this Fall. I wasn't too sure about the Cheddar cheese but was it ever the best! The topping is just sweet enough to offset the pear filling. We had so many left-over pears and this was a wonderful way to use them up. I even made a pie for my neighbors..they loved it! Thanks much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was excellent. I've made two different pies and used some old home canned fruit (one was peaches, one was apples). It turned out great. Family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was amazing. I made it with combination of two types of pears and some granny smith apples. Next time, I might even make it as a crumble/crisp because the crust was not even needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States