Cheddar Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Fantastic pie. I had been having a craving for pie and got this in my e-mail and wanted to try it. It wasn't hard at all. I put a little more topping than called for but the rest of it followed to the letter. I gave 4 stars because it was a bit runny, but it maybe even better tomorrow, we'll have to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is by far the best pie. I originally made this many years ago and I was the only one who ate it -- the guys at my house thought it was "okay'. This year I have received an abundance of pears and have probably made it at least a half dozen times. It is that good and my siblings liked it so it is a good potluck dish. I do recommend using the sharp cheddar cheese though to balance out the sweetness of the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is really good! I made exactly as directed and the only change that I would make next time is that I would add a little more cheese (could not taste it at all!). My entire family enjoyed it and I think that it will make it to my Thanksgiving table. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was a huge hit and I'm making it again this weekend....Definately give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly but was disappointed in the results. The flavor of the pie was great, but the cheese gave the topping a weird, chewy consistency insteady of a crispy, crumbly one, which I expected. Is that the way it's supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very good, but I'd like it better with sharp cheddar cheese. Family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
YUMMY! Made it exact and loved it! Used sharp cheddar but you really don't taste the cheese - will probably use a little more next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I made this as mini pies in a muffin tin when I realized I had no available pie plates! This was good, but I was expecting a little more from the cheddar; I couldn't even tell it was there. This does taste like apple pie, just a touched more sweet. This is def worth trying & I will prob make it again, should I have pears in need of using in the future. If I make it again, I think I'll shred my own cheese (used pre-shredded from a bag) and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very good flavor. I omitted the crust and made cheddar pear crisp. I also added a dash of cloves, 3/4 tsp. minced ginger, and replaced the cornstarch with 1 tbs. tapioca. This recieved rave reviews from everyone who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
From the reviews I thought this is going to be an excellent pie, but it didn't live up to my hopes. This was my very first pie ever! I was confused as how big of a pie shell does this 6 cups of pears need. It'd have been easier for me. I've settled with 9" pie shell. It was probably a bad choice. I had 5 cups of pears after chopping, and it was full! I mean overflowing, the "crumbles" were heaping over the top. Oh, the crumbles! I don't know what was wrong, but I followed the recipe... and with a pastry blender I was cutting in the butter... it was a disaster! It didn't work out for me. The dry ingredients were too much and did not cling to the butter the next second it was a mush. I had to kind of scrape it in little bits on top of the pie. My husband loves it though. I think it is just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States