Cheddar Onion Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made the these for tonight dinner the came out moist with a nice combo of cheeses. I made my own buttermilk 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon white vinegar and let it sit for 10 minutes. I paired them with Fancy Fish Italiano which is on this sight. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Good biscuits. Like other reviewers, I needed to use more buttermilk to bring the dough together (about 1/4 cup). While I did enjoy these overall, I wasn't super crazy about the flavor of the dried minced onion...If I made them again, I would use green onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Simply Yummy... 'nuff said ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My wife made me these biscuits and I was really impressed. She did make a few changes: we didn't have onion powder so she used chopped onion (I loved it, but if you don't want the extra texture, she suggests sauteing them), added a little rosemary, feta instead of parmesan (we didn't have parmesan), and added balsamic vinegar to regular milk instead of buttermilk. This is exactly the type of comment I usually hate on all recipes (I love this site), but we are traveling and didn't have everything available to us! In any case, I'm sure that the basic flavors of the original are similar. Bon appetit from your favorite Alaskan Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Pretty good. I added chopped scallions and garlic powder. Needed to be baked longer, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made the biscuits considering revisions made by other members, also changed to 8 servings. Added about 2 tablespoons more buttermilk (used white vinegar/milk), also added garlic powder and a little Old Bay when mixing dry ingredients, then sprinkled kosher salt on top of biscuits prior to baking. These were fantastic and super easy to make! Moist, delicious biscuits. 14 minutes bake time exactly for me. Just had a leftover one with breakfast. Yum! Thanks for posting the recipe. My husband thanks you, too. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very tasty! I did do one thing slightly different. I didn't have dried minced onion so I used fresh onion, and I accidentally used 3 T because I didn't read the recipe close enough. However, they were very good so I think I'm glad I used more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Needed more milk to make the dough combine together, about 2 tablespoons more. Also added green onion for color and salt as suggested by other reviewers and these came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Gariner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very tasty. I made these this morning and they were soooo good. I had to add additional milk and I used spring onions. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly as written. Will definitely make these again. My wife said they were so good that I was going to have to hide them from her. Thanks for sharing a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Amazing! Everyone loved these. It was a bonus that they were easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States