Cheddar Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Exellent recipe. Can also be made with barley or rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These do really taste like Cheezits! I followed the recipe, but ended up needing about double the tbls of water it called for and I doubled the cheese per other reviews. I also had to cook them about 10 extra minutes to get nice and crispy. My kids love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I've been looking for that recipe for so long - many thanks from Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this for a large event and got tons and tons of raves! The crackers tasted just like cheeze-its to me and to the other event participants. I used yellow mustard instea dof mustard pwd and added it after cutting in the butter and i used a very sharp cheddar and a good 1/2 cup more per batch than called for. I was able to process the dough in my food processor. After chilling i rolled it out and cut it into shapes with cookie cutters and baked as directed. I also used "paste" food coloring to color the dough for a presentation piece and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I loved these. I doubled the cheese and added a little cayenne. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlednme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These taste just like Cheezits. I even used all whole wheat flour. I did as others suggested and doubled the cheese. As with any recipe that calls for cutting in butter you have to take your time and make sure the butter stays cold during this step by putting the mixture back in the fridge if the butter starts to soften too much while cutting it in. This way the ingredients are evenly distributed throughout the dough. I am really excited because now I can use a small cookie cutter and have any shape cheezit I want! I love to have lots of pretty appitizers. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX Tigress
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Great base recipe that we can do so much with to get variety :) I did not have cheddar cheese so I used 1 C of shredded parmesan instead. Wonderful flavor! Can't wait to try this recipe w/ Cheddar as well as Pepper Jack for a little kick! Thank you so much for sharing and thanks to all the people who left helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Really good just the way it is and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
It was a really easy recipe to follow and the resulting crackers were delicious. I had never made crackers before so I was a little nervous, but my friends and family loved them! I rolled the dough out and cut it into shapes with a cookie cutter, it worked well and the crackers held their shape in baking. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I followed the other reviewers suggestions by cutting the butter to 1/2 cup and doubling the cheese. I used whole wheat flour too, and my allergic-to-health-food husband and picky son didn't notice. They turned out fantastic! Really addictive, and taste so much like cheese-its! The thinner they're rolled the crispier and better they are. Update: so many people complained this was too much like a pie crust, so I decided to utilize that idea. However, I made a pot pie and had a lot of trouble getting this dough to become crispy as a crust should. It was tasty, but I will stick to using this for crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States