Cheddar Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I've been looking for that recipe for so long - many thanks from Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
A bit on the dry side.My first attempt at making crackers, so it could have been the dook!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I was looking for a cracker recipe to replace expensive commercially-made crackers. These did not taste like crackers at all, in fact they tasted exactly like pie crust-- so I checked my copy of Rose Levy Beranbaum's book, "The Pie and Pastry Bible" and sure enough I found that her recipe for "Flaky Cheddar Pie Crust" is almost IDENTICAL to this recipe. I will make this again as a pie crust for a savory pie, but not as crackers. It was also not very cheesy tasting, even though I doubled amount of cheese the recipe called for AND added in some grated romano cheese. I also salted them lightly with regular table salt before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
These really are very good. I used sharp cheedar. And I think I will use a little more cheese next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
i forgot to add the cheese but they still tasted great. without the cheese i needed to add several more tablespoons of water. the taste was a combo between pie crust and saltines; interesting, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this for a large event and got tons and tons of raves! The crackers tasted just like cheeze-its to me and to the other event participants. I used yellow mustard instea dof mustard pwd and added it after cutting in the butter and i used a very sharp cheddar and a good 1/2 cup more per batch than called for. I was able to process the dough in my food processor. After chilling i rolled it out and cut it into shapes with cookie cutters and baked as directed. I also used "paste" food coloring to color the dough for a presentation piece and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Really good just the way it is and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I agree with the other reviews in this being more suited as a pie crust recipe. I was looking for a recipe similar to one I used to make as a kid - it contained much less butter which made the crackers quite dense and smooth. I will have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Exellent recipe. Can also be made with barley or rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I really like this recipe. I adjusted it to be gluten-free, using one cup white rice flour, and one cup garfava flour in place of the all-purpose flour (plus 3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum). I also followed the suggestion to replace the white pepper with cayenne, since I wanted them to taste like Cheez-Its. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of 3/4 cup, and I used 1 cup of cheese, not 1/2 cup, as many others had suggested. I think the crackers would have been even cheesier if I'd have used sharp cheddar, but I bought mild cheddar by mistake. The recipe worked really well, only I had to bake them much longer to get them done enough, but that could very well be because of the different flours I used. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States