Cheddar Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I followed the other reviewers suggestions by cutting the butter to 1/2 cup and doubling the cheese. I used whole wheat flour too, and my allergic-to-health-food husband and picky son didn't notice. They turned out fantastic! Really addictive, and taste so much like cheese-its! The thinner they're rolled the crispier and better they are. Update: so many people complained this was too much like a pie crust, so I decided to utilize that idea. However, I made a pot pie and had a lot of trouble getting this dough to become crispy as a crust should. It was tasty, but I will stick to using this for crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
As a pie crust, I give this a 5 plus! It's peppery, cheesy flavor would be great for a quiche. As a cracker...no. There is nothing 'crackery' about this unless you like eating left over baked pie crust. However, and if you do like pie crust than role it out translucent thin to get that cracker type texture (although it will stay taste like a really thin pie crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The crackers are very easy to make and are light. They are not as cheesy as I would like, but I tweek it a little more each time. This last time I used my silicone mat and saved a lot of time. My crackers were on my mat from rolling out until I placed them in a container. Since they do not spread, I waited until cooled to break up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kccc5298

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These are good with parmesan and american cheese instead of cheddar and tomorrow I'm going to try a batch with mozzarella. When Hurricane Irene was about to hit I had over half a pound of American cheese in the fridge. I made 4 half batches, each with different seasonings, and was able to eat them and avoid throwing out the cheese even though my power went off for 22 hours (and I was lucky at that). Try cayenne with paprika, onion powder or curry powder. Those of you who double the cheese, you are right. It's better. I'm going to try and cut the butter like somebody here posted. Another flavoring tip: mix 1/4 tsp each garlic powder (not salt), onion powder (not salt), paprika, cayenne, oregano, black pepper and thyme. Nice little bite on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
It was a really easy recipe to follow and the resulting crackers were delicious. I had never made crackers before so I was a little nervous, but my friends and family loved them! I rolled the dough out and cut it into shapes with a cookie cutter, it worked well and the crackers held their shape in baking. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This tasted like a cheese pie crust. I still do not know how to make a cracker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I agree that these turned out more like pastry bites vs a cracker. but seriously good on flavor. I used the red tubbed sharp cheese and added smoked paprika. coupled these with creamy black bean dip and heaven was close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These taste just like Cheezits. I even used all whole wheat flour. I did as others suggested and doubled the cheese. As with any recipe that calls for cutting in butter you have to take your time and make sure the butter stays cold during this step by putting the mixture back in the fridge if the butter starts to soften too much while cutting it in. This way the ingredients are evenly distributed throughout the dough. I am really excited because now I can use a small cookie cutter and have any shape cheezit I want! I love to have lots of pretty appitizers. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX Tigress
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
These did not taste like crackers to me. I was dissapointed. I wont be making these ones again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I too used GF flour mix and only gave this four stars because it would make an excellent Cheddar Pie Crust for say--a chicken pot pie. Other wise, this was not a good cracker for me, too wet in the center and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Janie Pendleton

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States