Cheddar Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
In all fairness to the author, I did alter the recipe. What I made I would give 2 stars. I'm bumping it up a star because I altered it and I'm giving the author the benefit of the doubt. Several people said these taste like cheesy pie crust. They're right. Now, I do think how long you cook them (and what your altitude is) may affect how crispy they turn out, but this is what I did and how they turned out: I did 1/2 cup of butter, as reviewers suggested, and 1 cup of shredded sharp cheese. (I also added different seasonings, but that will not affect consistency.) I did not space the crackers and baked at 350 for 20 minutes. 20 minutes was my mistake--I guess I misread the recipe--but being that I baked them for that long, I simply cannot imagine baking them for a shorter period of time. The crackers right around the outside edge were crunchier, but the middle ones were a bit like a baked pie crust, in all honesty. Also these were GREASY!!! I can't imagine adding more butter! There's a point when baking where I think there's just TOO much butter--like it's all you taste. For me, even cutting the butter down there was WAY too much butter. They're interesting little chewy crackers, and my boyfriend likes them, but they are not at all like a Cheeze-It, and I am quite puzzled as to how some reviewers seem to think they're identical. They're not at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I loved these. I doubled the cheese and added a little cayenne. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlednme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe was dry, unflavorful and tough and hard to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These do really taste like Cheezits! I followed the recipe, but ended up needing about double the tbls of water it called for and I doubled the cheese per other reviews. I also had to cook them about 10 extra minutes to get nice and crispy. My kids love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Pretty dissapointed. Tasted like pie crust to me too, not at all like crackers and I couldn't taste the cheese even though I put 1 cup in. I will definately be trying a different recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Loved these. Turned out a bit thick, like a pastry, which I was fine with. A bit of cayenne also gave it a nice new dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent basic cheese cracker, very easily made with pie crust technique for food processor. I made them with 1/2 whole wheat and used almost twice the cheese and got an excellent result. Just add sliced chilled butter to the dry ingredients and pulse less than you imagine - maybe 10 short one second bursts. Dough looks like wet sand. then add about 1/2 the water called for with motor running - quickly - and turn off. Pulse the cheese in, let it rest and roll it out. Make it REALLY thin and watch carefully. rolling with parchment on top and bottom worked very well. Toss back in frige if it gets sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These were better than I thought they'd be! I was looking for a different taste, so I spiced mine with only garlic salt and kept true to the 1/2 cup cheddar, fearing they'd be flavorless. They certainly weren't. I like cheese, but not much of it at once, so these were perfect. They're just between crunchy and chewy, which was a slight disappointment at first but they've definitely grown on me as I can't stop eating them (and they're much better after cooling). The only con I have is that they're packed with fat, obviously due to the butter. I wonder how they'd come out with low-fat/unsalted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Falula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Great base recipe that we can do so much with to get variety :) I did not have cheddar cheese so I used 1 C of shredded parmesan instead. Wonderful flavor! Can't wait to try this recipe w/ Cheddar as well as Pepper Jack for a little kick! Thank you so much for sharing and thanks to all the people who left helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Easy to make...seasoning required adjusting to taste. Made it with sharp cheddar cheese and another batch with hot pepper blend cheese. Be sure to roll out to thickness as stated in the recipe. Definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States