Cheddar Corn Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Pretty food. A recipe that can be adjusted to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I loved these - we went for a more southwest style meal. Here's what we did: add a 4oz can diced chilies, and serve topped with refried beans, sour cream, salsa, and sliced avocados. I was looking for a recipe that could work this way, and this one totally does. I have added grated zucchini, chopped sauteed onions, chopped kale, and other veggies to the batter in the past with great results. I'm not sure I would like these with maple syrup...but great for dinner with all the toppings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe. I substituted whole wheat flour for white and used havarti cheese. YUMMY I froze some and they held up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were good, I'd call them corn cakes instead of pancakes and I was told by the dad I made them for today that they were dry. He had never heard of making them with cornmeal so may be a little less cornmeal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I decreased the corn meal to 2/3 cup and increased the flour by 1/3 cup. ** I local restaurant (ower is from S.America) serves corn cakes with COTILLA cheese to be sprinkled (generously) on top. It a white cheese that can be grated (not as firm of a texture as parmesan or romano - it's light and has a hint of sea salt). It's an awesome addition (the sweet & salt contrast with the syrup)! Our large food chains carry it but I'm sure there are parts of the country where you might need to look for it at a cheese specialty shop or a grocery that caters to the Hispanic community.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diann Uzelac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Added extra cheese cut in small chunks(used a lite variety). Added more corn, a 1/2 can of creamed corn, some chopped cauliflower (about 3/4 cup), and 2 Tbsps mild jalepeno peppers, chopped. Added little more flour and baking powder and fried this like fritters, and.... oh my - they turned out delicious! Try them spread with a little hot pepper jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These were good, but we found that they could use more cheese. We flipped the pancake, then sprinkled on extra cheese. That made them better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I tried out this recipe last week, and found the results to be mediocre. SO, I tried it again this weekend with some changes. I raided a PACKET OF POWDERED CHEESE from a mac n'cheese box and stirred it into 1/4 cup SOUR CREAM and stirred that into the batter. Also, I added 1/2 cup more shredded CHEDDAR CHEESE and the pancakes were superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I tried this and added a few things to change it up a little with leftovers. I added some cream corn with the liquids and some left over chicken I had. served it with sour cream and salsa it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Too much corn meal made them a little too firm, would prefer more leavaning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Holm Zula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States