Cheddar Chipotle Bread on a Pizza Stone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
When you get chiptle peppers in adobe sauce thay are usually whole so to cut down on the heat cut them open and scrap the seeds out. If you like it a little hotter you can adjust the seed content to taste. I hope this helps for those having a question on why I said to scrap the seeds from the peppers. If you can find chipotle peppers in the adobe and they dont need to be scraped you can use those just as well. Jessie Kay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE KAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Absolutely amazing! We froze two of the loaves and the dough thawed beautifully! Next time I think I'll use a sharper cheddar (we only had mild on hand)to really accent the chipotle. Totally worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Thank goodness I would never do anything as absurd as give up carbs, otherwise I would never have tasted this extraordinary loaf. The cream cheese adds a nice texture and flavor layer. I used chipotle with the seeds, and the heat is about right for me, and I tend to lean toward the spicy side of life. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This bread is decadent! Made a few modifications in that I used cheese crumbles (in the shredded cheese aisle of the store) which allowed for chunks of cheese mmmmm!, made loaves (think Italian bread) and basted with water to give it a crustier crust. All around a great recipe - although a bit labor intensive, but TOTALLY worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very labor intensive time consuming recipe but well worth the effort. The family loved it. It made a wonderful toast too. I know the dough won't be as good but I am going to try adding the cheeses and chipotle to thawed and raised frozen bread dough letting it raise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
OMG! So good. I loved it right out of the oven, but toasted is excellent, too! I added more flour when I was kneading in the chipotle in adobo because it got very sticky, but other than that, I did not change a thing. I also left the seeds in. It has a kick, but not to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Used 2/3 cup of chipotle pepper puree with the seeds (I just chopped up the peppers myself). I used mild cheeses b/c that's what I had, but it was still amazing. Made it in the kitchen aide with the dough hook for the most part, although I had to pull it out to knead in some of the flour that would not incorporate. It is a MESSY dough, but so worth it. Baked to an internal temp of 190 degrees. Covered with foil after ten minutes to prevent over-browning. Even though my friends know I love to bake, everyone at my church community group thought I had purchased this at a bakery. It looked and tasted amazing, although you might leave out the seeds if you don't like REALLY spicy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This bread is delicious! I made one loaf for home and one loaf for work and they were a big hit. The dough was tough to knead by hand with the various cheeses, but the labor was worth it. I removed the chipotle seeds to decrease the fire. I baked two loaves together on a 12.5"-diameter pizza stone; they barely fit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I have to admit, I followed the recipe but didn't love it. It was okay but we threw the rest away after having the first few slices. I might make the recipe again as a standard cheese bread with some modifications. Maybe we didn't make it right but it wasn't one of our best breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Yum!! I absolutely loved this-a couple of minor adaptions- I chopped up the chipolte peppers instead of pureeing them and baked them on a hot cookie sheet that was placed in the oven as it preheated. It's also a very beautiful looking bread. I like the addition of cheese cubes (as opposed to shredded) because it made swirls of cheese. Used a kitchenaid stand mixer for the mixing and kneading - and it was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States