Cheddar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I love this recipe except I use italian breadcrumbs instead of cornflakes. What I do to add extra flavor is I melt the butter and also fry a clove or two of minced garlic in it, and then once the butter is melted it sits for twenty minutes to meld the garlic flavor into the butter. I then dip the chicken in the garlic butter and then into the breadcrumb/cheese mixture. Add a little more cheddar on top toward the end of baking. This is some of the moistest chicken I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This was a wonderful dish that I assure you the entire family will love. And I promise there are never "left overs" when I cook this for my family. Thank you Karen for an easy and tasty dish!! Darcy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
I didn't really care for this recipe but some of it may be my fault as I used low fat cheddar cheese. I think I should've covered the dish since I used low fat because the cheddar became hard and crusty. My fiance loved it and I liked the flavor that the cornflakes gave the chicken but I don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Been meaning to try this one for a few weeks now because of all the rave review - finally got to it tonight only to discover halfway into getting it all set up I had NO cheddar left in the fridge! Used shredded colby/jack mix instead - and when the coating really wouldn't stick to the chicken at all - I lost faith and only used 2 whole chicken breasts vs the 8 halves the recipe called for - and broiled the rest *plain* to use as backup if this turned out inedible. In my disgust, I threw the rest of the butter and cornflake/cheese mix on top of the two breasts and put it in the oven - and WOW was I sorry I didn't use more chicken!! We LOVED the recipe - and wolfed down the pitiful two breasts I made and were both sorry I ever doubted all the reviews. VERY tasty - though it didn't seem like it would work out well at first - this one will definitely be made again (and the colby/jack cheese turned out great - almost hesitant to use cheddar next time - since why mess with perfection?) Thanks so much for a fantastic easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Hate to pull a Simon Cowell, but I absolutely did not like this dish. I followed all recipe instructions except I added a pinch of garlic powder and used less butter (perhaps I shouldn't have cut down on the butter?). Also, I used freshly shredded parmesan which probably did not mix as well as the grated kind. But the upshot is: it tasted like someone had prepared their morning cornflakes on top of my chicken. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good I will be making this often. I did put salt and pepper in the cheese mix as other people suggested. My husband wants more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Average chicken dish. Probably won't make again. I love chicken but this one didn't hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This recipe is very good and so easy. I made no changes to this recipe at all, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I thought this was delicious. I took advice from others and salted the chicken. I did put pepper, and Tony Cachere's Herb and Spice seasoning in the cornflake mixture which gave it a really nice taste. They came out very moist. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This recipe is great, as is! I added a little extra cheddar cheese, and made sure to put all the extra cheese mixture on top. 40 minutes was perfect for my oven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Artichoke Chicken

Baked chicken with a cheesy, creamy sauce and artichoke hearts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States