Cheddar Cheese Nippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I added a tsp. baking powder and they puffed nicely. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
????????????????????,,,???????????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jadedcup
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Family loves it! Was very easy and quick. The longest part was the rolling out and cutting. I stayed homemade and just used my handy pizza cutter to make my cracker shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jadedcup

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe. This is why I gave it a 5 star. Several people said the crackers took a while to make, I disagree. It's quick! (I'm potty training a 2-year old, don't have time to be in the kitchen.) I did it in two steps. First, combine the ingredients and threw the dough in a zip lock bag and put in the refrigerator. (That took 10mins tops!) Second, when my son was taking his nap, I rolled out the dough, used cookie cutters, and popped it in the oven. (2 large cookie sheets made all the crackers.) So that was 30mins of baking. In my opinion, they were amazing, but the son didn't like them. I wouldn’t say they were hot, but the crackers do have a “little kick” 2 seconds after you eat it. (Enough “kick” that they son spit it out and wanted a drink.) I made a second batch for him, using regular pepper instead of cayenne pepper. I also ran out of real butter and used spreadable butter. FOLLOW THE RECIPE! Don’t substitute the butter! Instead of being crisp/flaky, they are chewy. They are still edible, but they just don’t have the cracker texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I don't have a food processor but tried it anyway. Mine were nothing like store bought. I tired adding salt on top of some of them and did not like that at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wanted a recipe to use in a wreath pan instead of cookie dough. Pressed in mold a little thicker than 1/4". Worked wonderfully. Decorated with pesto, pimento, and bacon cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was a really good recipe. I used cheddar and parmesan and swiss and also added about a tablespoon of beer and then cracked black pepper instead of cayenne. The taste was very good. Im sure every body else knows this but I discovered that most cookie presses have an attachment for this sort of cracker/cookie. (surprise!) For me this ones a keeper. Ill definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I found these to taste more like a biscut than a cracker. I would have liked more of a cheese flavor. If I try again I would refrigerate in a log and then slice with dental floss as thin as I could get them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Instead of white flour I used wheat- they don't look the best but I love whole wheat flour. Instead of 1.5 all purpose flour, I used 1c.+3TBSP of wheat flour. I doubled the cayenne pepper and they are delicious! I think next time I'll try using less butter to cut fat and calories. I also added a little milk because the dough was dry at first. A tip for rolling them- if you don't mind how they look, I placed the dough on the baking sheet (no parchment paper, just oil/non stick spray) and smashed it as flat as I could with my hands. Then I put plastic wrap on top of it and rolled it, to avoid having the dough stick to the roller. After it was flat, (remember it's already on the baking sheet) I cut them into little squares. I also dashed salt on them like real Cheese Nips. After they were baked and a little crispy, I retraced the lines with the knife and voila, little square cheese nips! Even though I changed the recipe a bit, they are delicious, and now with the added benefit of wheat flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These are very good and easy to make. I did not want to mess with the cookie cutters and having them break so I shaped mine into 2 round logs and chilled in the fridge for about an hour. Then I sliced them into 1/4 inch rounds and baked. Who would have thought, cheese cookies. Next time I'm going to double the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States