Cheddar Beer Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My boys and I really liked these. I used one of my husband's light beers, my own homemade biscuit mix and an extra sharp cheddar. I mixed the batter lightly and until just moistened as to not overmix the batter. I pressed it into a round cake pan, popped it out, cut it into six large triangles and baked it like scones. We had them with Creamed Eggs and Ham. Most filling. (You can find Creamed Eggs also on this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Wow - so easy and so good! I'd been eyeing up this little recipe for a while now and am so glad I got around to trying it! Who knew so few ingredients could produce such a tasty little scone! I had exactly 2 cups left of some Bisquick I wanted to get rid of and I have to admit there's NEVER a shortage of beer around here so with just the third ingredient up for grabs I opted to give these an Italian flair. I used 1/2 cup of shredded Romano cheese, 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan, 1 tsp. of garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. each of oregano and basil, plus 1/4 tsp. of salt. I baked it in a 9 inch round cake pan and sprinkled the top with a bit more shredded romano cheese. It baked up nice and golden brown. After it cooled I cut it into triangles. It went great with "Rachel's Tomato Basil" Soup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good. I used Miller 64 light beer and Bisquick Heart Smart, added about 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, used reduced fat cheese and added 1/4 cup more cheese. Sprayed with butter-flavored spray oil and dusted with a little more garlic powder. I also added a little extra salt, personal preference. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I made these and when they were done baking, while still hot, I brushed them with melted butter and Old Bay seasoning and they were better than Red Lobster's Cheddar Bay Biscuits. MMMMMGood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I chose this recipe as I had a box of Bisquik in the pantry that had never been used and its fast approaching its use by date!! This worked well with Pasta for dinner this evening. Made a few changes I added Garlic and Italian seasoning to the dough along with 1 cup of mature sharp English Cheddar. Cooked in the oven for 10 minutes than topped with another 1/2 cup of cheese and more Italian seasoning. I used Samual Adams Boston Ale for the beer. Great quick recipe, when you don't have enough time to bake bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were great! However, next time I will double the cheese for my familys preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Excellent...simple to make. I also added chopped green chilies (a couple of teaspoons) along with one cup of shredded cheddar. Used Miller 64 beer and they were very tasty. Will add salt or try the Bay Seasoning as others suggested. Even my 8 yr old daughter loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Excellent! Super quick and I had all the ingredients on hand. I took this to a cookout and all I heard was next time I better double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
use light beer (your fav brand) because dark/heavy beers give it a sort of sour dough or slight rye bread taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
These were ok. Taste like regular biscuits to me. I really thought I was going to have a nice cheese flavor. Needs more cheese. I even tried it with mozzarella and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States