Cheddar Beer Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My boys and I really liked these. I used one of my husband's light beers, my own homemade biscuit mix and an extra sharp cheddar. I mixed the batter lightly and until just moistened as to not overmix the batter. I pressed it into a round cake pan, popped it out, cut it into six large triangles and baked it like scones. We had them with Creamed Eggs and Ham. Most filling. (You can find Creamed Eggs also on this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very good! I served these with deep fried shrimp and it was perfect for thes meal. So simple yet very tasty. I was so surprised to see Odell IL pop up as I am your neighbor. I live in Dwight. Thanks for a quick and delicious biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I made these and when they were done baking, while still hot, I brushed them with melted butter and Old Bay seasoning and they were better than Red Lobster's Cheddar Bay Biscuits. MMMMMGood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Love love love love these! I whipped these up with some chili, and my husband and couldn't believe how tasty they were. I probably put closer to a cup of cheddar in mine and only cut out 8 wedges. We will be eating these for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good. I used Miller 64 light beer and Bisquick Heart Smart, added about 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, used reduced fat cheese and added 1/4 cup more cheese. Sprayed with butter-flavored spray oil and dusted with a little more garlic powder. I also added a little extra salt, personal preference. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Excellent! Super quick and I had all the ingredients on hand. I took this to a cookout and all I heard was next time I better double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were great! However, next time I will double the cheese for my familys preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was ok. I don't drink beer and used leftover beer from when a friend visited. Used an amber ale. The taste of beer wasn't real strong so it was ok. I think if I were to make this again, I would add more cheese. Since I don't drink beer I didn't think it would be fair to rate it a 3, so I gave it a 4 since it was ok and real easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Good. A little dry, but that's to be expected with any dough that calls for beer and biscuit mix--at least in my experience. I'm planning on serving with soup, though, and I think the triangles will great with that. By themselves they aren't quite moist enough. I think they need a bit more flavor--salt and pepper, some more cheese. I added some old bay seasoning to the batter and could've added more. I pressed into cake pans and cut into 8 slices before baking with my pizza cutter, then I put pats on margarine on just a few more minutes before the timer rang, and it worked well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Excellent...simple to make. I also added chopped green chilies (a couple of teaspoons) along with one cup of shredded cheddar. Used Miller 64 beer and they were very tasty. Will add salt or try the Bay Seasoning as others suggested. Even my 8 yr old daughter loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States