Cheddar Bay Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
These were great! However, in this recipe along with the others I've found for Cheddar Bay Biscuits, The "Bay" is missing. I've discovered it's Old Bay Seasoning. Here in Pennsylvania it's found by the seafood in the supermarkets. I added a dash to the batter and 1/4 teaspoon to the butter mixture and THEN it was exactly like the famous seafood chain restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
962 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wonderful biscuits! For this recipe alone I have become one of "those" reviewers ~ I am rating this recipe on changes made before trying the original. I know, I know, shame on me! I am only doing so as I had items in the fridge that I needed to use up! Based on other reviews, I added the garlic and onion powder, parsley and 1/4 tsp of Old Bay seasoning to the mix. In place of the water, I used buttermilk which makes a more flavorful biscuit. As soon as the biscuits were done, I brushed the butter mixture (plus chives for color) on top of the biscuits and popped them back into the oven for about 2 minutes. Full of flavor, easy to make with ingredients usually found in any cooks kitchen! 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
454 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I have always wanted to replicate the garlic-cheese biscuits from one of my favorit restaurants and now I can! I followed other reviewers advice and doubled the cheese (about 1 cup) as well as adding 1 tsp. of garlic, 1/4 tsp. onion powder and about 1/2 tsp. of dried parsley to the biscuit batter. In the butter, I added the called for amounts of garlic and onion powder, increased the parsley to 1/2 tsp (love the color and flavor) and omitted the salt. I used baking spray rather than parchment paper and took advice from another reviewer and brushed the biscuits with the butter and popped them back in the oven for a few minutes. Next time I will most likely increase the amount of garlic a bit and maybe make 1/2 a batch as these are hard to resist (I don't believe it's very kind to my waist line!) Thanks Cookie...and also, would you happen to have the restaurant recipe for the blackened fish spice blend??? Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I LOVE Red Lobsters biscuits and being Australian and having NO Red Lobsters to go to - I had to create my own biscuits for my 4th of July celebrations. They were SO easy and tasted SO much like the restaurant ones I couldn't believe it. I didn't think that I was going to be able to survive until November when I come back over - but now with my recipe on hand - I'll be making these all the time. My family also LOVED them and they have never had real American biscuits although my sister swore they were the same as a scone - I don't think so at all. The only time consuming aspect of this recipe was the fact that I had to make my own Bisquik because we don't have it in Australia - luckily I had shortening on hand from my American Food Store. Australians need to revise some of our cooking products that are seriously lacking. AMERICAN FOOD ROCKS. Tip: dip your biscuits in French dressing - there's nothing better!!!!!!! Kat Thomas, Melbourne Australia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
So yummy and so easy! Next time I will try some of the other reviewers' suggestions - milk instead of water, adding the seasonings to the mix as well as to the butter topping, leaving the salt out, baking a little longer after adding the topping. Even so they were nearly perfect and disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
These were very close to RL's! I did use milk, and added garlic powder, onion powder, and parsley to the dough as well as the butter. My family was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Nothing not to like with these! I have never eaten at Red Lobster, so I have no idea what their biscuits taste like and cannot compare these to them. But these were goooood. So easy to make there really is no reason not to make them, and often. I played with the recipe a bit, but without disturbing its integrity. I used milk instead of water and a Danish Dill Havarti instead of cheddar (mainly for practical reasons, since I didn’t want the milk to go to waste and the Havarti for the same reason). In keeping with the dill already in the Havarti, I swapped the parsley out for even more dill weed in the melted butter mixture. I deliberately made these oversized, planning ahead to use them for some breakfast sandwiches in the morning. They’re just delicious – golden and crusty on the outside, soft and tender on the inside. Loved ‘em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
The only change I made was that I put some of the garlic powder and a little bit of the parsley into the batter itself. Everyone said they tasted EXACTLY like RL's biscuits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
OK, these were VERY close to tasting like the real thing! Mine just came out to dry for my taste. I used the easy baking mix recipe instead of bisquick, and I also made my biscuits way too big. I had to end up baking them for over twenty min! So the next time I make them I'll do some adjustments on my end and they should turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Great Recipe! I tried swiss cheese and they were out of this world! Can't wait to try them with cheddar! Thanks for the great and quick recipe! I did find that when they cool down or a day old, they taste great zapped in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States