Cheddar Baked Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These are always a hit. My family loves them. I do need to add a bit more butter to the dough. Warm, crusty, and salty. Who doesn't love that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I love these and they're so easy to make. My tip: don't chill the dough. I find it's so much easier to stretch it around the olive if I warm the dough in my hands slightly. Otherwise it's just too crumbly and appears to need more binder (like butter). With it warm it all comes together. I use small olives so they're just a bite or two each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
The trick is using a small ball and really pulling the dough around the ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I found them best cooked from frozen with an extended bake time, I used old cheddar, paprika, hot sauce and worstershire. Used only enough dough to cover olives, sometimes I can make 48 with this recipe - I get rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made this recipe for my husbands retirement party. I took the advice of some and made them the day before with a liberal dash of cayenne. They were very well received and was asked repeatedly for the recipe. Personally, I liked them better hot but know one else seemed to mind them at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
My mother always made these as Christmas when I was a kid. I started making them a few years ago...always get RAVE reviews. One person even said they were "the best thing he has ever put in his mouth." And his mother is an awesome cook. I do add a dash of cayenne. Even enjoyed by non-olive lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAGRUBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Hill, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Excellent! I did grease the cookie sheet with Olive oil. That was the only variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These turned out pretty good. My mom used to make a version of these and of course I think hers are better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
dough is bland and dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
When you first read this recipe you think "Hmmm, this doesn't sound good". Well, you're right! A bowl of olives would be just as popular, if not more so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States