Cheddar Baked Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Love this recipe, though I prefer to use black olives, and I generally add more butter (til the dough seems right). I usually triple or quadruple the batch, and place the dough-wrapped olives onto large baking sheets and into the freezer for a couple of hours. Then you can put them into freezer bags so you can pull out however many you want, and they're not stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These are great, made them for a Christmas party. Also, replaced olives with jalopenas...they were a big hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These were very easy to make and really good. I only had sliced olives so I just mixed them in with the dough and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emkat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parchman, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I LOVE these. I can see where others might hesitate ("Cheddar baked WHAT?") but they are the perfect warm cheesey and salty. Sometimes I add a little kick with some cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder and/or mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These turned out pretty good. My mom used to make a version of these and of course I think hers are better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I love these and they're so easy to make. My tip: don't chill the dough. I find it's so much easier to stretch it around the olive if I warm the dough in my hands slightly. Otherwise it's just too crumbly and appears to need more binder (like butter). With it warm it all comes together. I use small olives so they're just a bite or two each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I love olives, but this recipe is not appropriate for cooking. First the mixture was too floury to stick together so I added an additional 2 T of butter which causes them to lose shape while cooking. What a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made this recipe for my husbands retirement party. I took the advice of some and made them the day before with a liberal dash of cayenne. They were very well received and was asked repeatedly for the recipe. Personally, I liked them better hot but know one else seemed to mind them at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
dough is bland and dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These are always a hit. My family loves them. I do need to add a bit more butter to the dough. Warm, crusty, and salty. Who doesn't love that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States